True Bias Lodo Dress: Not Just a Summer Dress

I’m back this month showing you yet another dress pattern that can last you through all the seasons, the Lodo Dress! When paired with the right fabric, this summery dress pattern can easily been worn through the fall and winter, especially when you top it with a warm and cozy boucle cardigan!

I actually didn’t jump right on the Lodo Dress bandwagon when it was first released. At first glance, I didn’t think it was quite my style and wouldn’t be very flattering on me. As more and more cute versions started popping up, I started becoming more tempted to give it a try. Then, I saw the one Chalk and Notch sewed up using a super cool scuba knit and I was sold! Thank goodness for Indiesew and PDF patterns, because I needed to make one ASAP! I was too impatient to wait for my copycat scuba to come in the mail, so after I printed off my pattern I started looking through my stash to see if I had any fabric that would work. I came across a fabric that ended up being the perfect choice for a fall/winter Lodo!

I got this window pane double knit last fall from Style Maker Fabrics. I never could figure out what to do with the large scale design. Coming across this fabric in my stash reminded me that I shouldn’t feel guilty for buying fabric and then not using it for awhile. You never know when the perfect pattern might come along! Unfortunately this fabric is no longer available, but these double knits, scuba knits, or pontes would be perfect. Indiesew also has a red scuba  and blue scuba!

So let’s talk about the Lodo Dress for a bit. This pattern might be the easiest/beginner friendly knit dress, without looking one bit like an easy/beginner friendly knit dress. I say this for a few reasons. First off, it only has side seams and a back seam (which I omitted due to the window pane design). The neckline and armholes are finished with a woven facing, so no tricky stretching of bands. The pattern requires a thick/stable knit like scuba, ponte, and double knits, which are so much easier to sew with. It’s straight fit through hips and slightly tapered hem, means you’re less likely to run into any fit issues.

I just love the cocoon shape, extended cap sleeves, and deep V neck combo! I chose a size 0 through the bust and graded out to a 4 through the hips. I shortened the pattern an inch before cutting my fabric, since the pattern is drafted for a 5’5 model and I am 5’4. I like this particular design on the short side, but if that length is not for you can give View A a try, which is a nice midi length. I am very pleased with the fit and didn’t change a thing when I cut out my scuba version.

Ok, now let’s talk about the vital piece that will allow you to wear your Lodo during the cooler months, a handmade cardigan. It just so happens that my new Grainline Studio Driftless Cardigan is a perfect match for this Lodo. Isn’t the boucle fabric to die for? I already had a thing for cardigans and a love for dropped sleeves, so the Driftless is now my new favorite cardigan! It’s an easy sew and the pockets are so clever. I chose Version B, which has a longer back and split hem. I’ve already cut out another since finishing this one and I plan on making many many more. It would be amazing out of the charcoal french terry Indiesew just released as part of the fall/winter collection!

I am so in love with these 2 patterns separately and together. They are great wardrobe staples and patterns I will make again and again!

This post is brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew Blogger Team. All thoughts and opinions are my own!

 

 

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

