Floral Charleston Dress

Happy fall Ya’ll! To celebrate the start of fall I decided to share a very “un-fall” like dress, whoops! I promise that I do have a few good reasons why I decided to blog this “un-fall” dress. 1. It won’t feel like fall in Charleston until maybe December, 2. This is perfect pattern for every single season with its 7 sleeve options, and 3. The main reason, I just love how it turned out!

I professed my love for the Charleston Dress by Hey June Patterns when I first sewed it up out of a fun palm tree print. I knew I wanted to make another one, but just never found a fabric that I felt had to become a Charleston Dress. Well, I found the perfect one by mistake!

charleston dress by hey june patterns

So perfect, right?!? I actually purchased this fabric to make another dress, but didn’t pay attention to the width requirements so I didn’t have enough. I really wanted to use the fabric before the fall-like temps actually hit, so I flipped through my PDFs and quickly decided it needed to become the Charleston! This pattern is best with stable knits, making it the perfect choice for an Art Gallery knit fabric like the one I chose. Also, for those of you still new to knits, Art Gallery knits are ridiculously easy to sew with.

charleston dress by hey june patterns

Once again, I sewed View A, which has an A-line skirt and pockets.  Instead of ruffle sleeves, I chose bicep length. I’m a huge fan of bicep length sleeves!

charleston dress by hey june patterns

I wish I would have tried my first Charleston back on before cutting this one. I must have lost a little weight since last summer, because this one could be a little more snug through the waist. Turns out I’m not a stress eater, but a stress fabric buyer. Bad for my bank account, but good for my waistline. LOL! Oh well, I still love it! So now that I finally made another one, I got an idea for a 3rd! How cute would a circle skirt be attached to the princess seamed bodice?!? I’ll keep you posted on how it turns out! Hopefully it doesn’t take me a whole year to actually make it like this one did.

This post is brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

One comment

Leave a Reply

