Highlands Wrap Dress by Allie Olson

Happy summer ya’ll! Well, we have a few more days until it’s officially summer, but it sure does feel like summer in Charleston. Between the heat and the fact that I’ve been on vacation for almost 3 weeks now, my summer is in full swing! So I’m here today to share my new dress that is perfect for summer time!

Highlands Wrap Dress by Allie Olson

Meet the Highlands Wrap Dress by Allie Olson! This dress was released as part of the Spring/Summer 2017 Indiesew collection. As usual, when it comes to Indiesew pattern collection releases, I absolutely love all the patterns in the collection. I now own 4 out of 5 of the pattens in this particular release. You can buy the full collection here and save 25% off the bundle or the mini collection and receive a 20% discount. The only pattern I haven’t made from the collection is the Hampton Jean Jacket, but I can personally recommend all the other patterns. I have made at least 4 Ogden camis, have another one cut, and plans to hack it into 2 different dress styles that are floating around in my head.

Something else I really love about this pattern release, is the fact that I can still get my hands on all the amazing fabrics that pair so perfectly with the patterns! How many times have you been teased by a gorgeous fabric featured on Indiesew and within hours it’s completely sold out? Well this time Allie made the fabrics available at 4 select stores around the US that offer online shipping. You can check her blog post for a link to each store. I checked a few and was able to find all the fabrics still available at Craft South.  A few of the other stores were sold out on some of them.

Highlands Wrap Dress by Allie Olson

I fell in love with this Agave Green Tencel, which Allie used for the release of her Highlands Wrap Dress. I know I copied her, but how could I not? Her dress was perfection and copying someone is the highest form of flattery right? I absolutely love the look and feel of tencel. It is such a unique dense, but breathable fabric and this agave green color is to die for. Allie did a really interesting blog post on tencel that I highly recommend you check out. She explains in full detail what tencel actually is and includes tips for working with it! Also, before we move on, check out my bow tying skills. I seriously had to watch a youtube video to figure out how to make my bow look pretty. Who knew there was a right way/wrong way to tie a bow? I suggest you do the same if you are struggling with getting your bow to sit pretty! Or maybe you already know how? Please don’t tell me I’m the only person who doesn’t know how to tie a bow!

Ok, I guess we should actually get to talking about the dress now, since that’s what this post is really all about. The Highlands Wrap Dress is Allie’s 2nd pattern and only my 2nd time sewing a wrap dress. I’ve looked at many other wrap dress patterns in the big 4 and the best way I can compare Allie’s version to others is that it’s like the “cadillac” version of wrap dresses. The entire front opening from the neck to my toes is finished with a facing, which gives it a really clean finish. The armholes are also finished with facings and can you see those crisp mitered corners at the hems? The dress stays closed with either hidden buttons or snaps, so there are no chances of flashing innocent bystanders. I chose to use snaps, since I avoid buttonholes at all costs. I also want to mention and Allie clearly writes this in the directions, that this pattern is drafted for B cups, therefore I found the fit of this dress through my bust to be absolutely perfect. I wore it out to dinner with friends before taking the pictures and the wrap bodice did not budge. I never once had to adjust it to make sure I wasn’t exposing myself to my friends. If you are bigger than a B cup, then Allie recommends a FBA. Amber, one of my friends (find her at soisewedthis on Instagram), who I was at dinner with actually tested this dress for Allie. She did a FBA on hers and she agreed that it is definitely a necessity!

Highlands Wrap Dress by Allie Olson

Check out that side slit! Mine is actually a tad too scandalous and I might end up having to fix it. I accidentally used the wrong lengthen/shorten lines to take 2 inches off the length before cutting my fabric, which brought my slit up 2 inches higher than it’s supposed to be. I didn’t notice this mistake until the very end, whoops! It’s obviously not as noticeable when I’m not popping my leg out to show you all the slit, so maybe I’ll leave it so my legs can benefit from the increased air flow in this Charleston heat, LOL!

Allie’s directions are very thorough, but if you’re not up for a bit of a “challenge” then I think this pattern is best for the intermediate sewist. I haven’t been sewing a ton of intermediate projects lately due to my hands/arms, so I found myself making tons of silly mistakes (like under stitching the armhole facings before clipping the curve) despite having the illustrations and instructions written out so clearly for me. Due to my rusty skills, this dress ended up taking way longer than it should have, but the finished project was 100% worth it! It also reminded me how those little details that may take longer when sewing really make for an amazing and professional looking handmade garment in the end that can rival any RTW garment!

I hope you guys have a fantastic summer and are able to squeeze some sewing time in between all your fun summer plans! Summer sewing is my fav!

This post was brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are of course always my own!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

6 comments

Leave a Reply

