Itch To Stitch Holiday Blog Tour

dsc_6588blogger-names

I love the holidays and obviously I love sewing, so I’m extra excited to be sharing 3 holiday looks I sewed up as part of the Itch To Stitch Blog Tour! Kennis, the designer behind Itch To Stitch (ITS), basically gave us free range of any pattern we wanted to sew up and my favorite online fabric shop, Style Maker Fabrics, sponsored the fabric! I’m feeling pretty honored to participate in such an awesome blog tour!

I’ve only sewn one ITS pattern prior to the tour, so I was excited to give a few more patterns a try. I think I’ll share my fav first instead of saving the best for last.

itsholidaytour1

I have been dying to sew up a Bonn Shirt ever since it was released as part of the Indiesew Fall/Winter Collection. It was the only pattern I lacked from the collection and I kept getting jealous every time I saw a new one pop up in my Instagram feed. I’ve always been a big fan of leopard print and have been seeing more and more of it in RTW this season. I also heard that it’s basically now considered a neutral, so I combined the Bonn with rayon challis leopard print and they turned out to be a match made in heaven!

itsholidaytour2

I don’t know why I think of leopard print around the holidays. Maybe because it dresses up so nicely for a holiday party? I did dress it up a bit here with skinny ponte pants and black suede kitten hills. It can just as easily be dressed down with jeans and some booties.

The Bonn shirt pattern did not disappoint! I love the fit and the curved hem detail. I chose 3/4 sleeves, mainly because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to sew a cuff. 🙂 I definitely want to make a few more of these!

Next up is a very versatile pattern that is such a wardrobe staple. It really can be worn with just about anything!

itsholidaytour3

This is the Hepburn Turtleneck, sewn out of black stretch velvet. Velvet is another new trend that I’m currently loving! My new turtleneck looked awesome with everything I tried it on with, so I was really torn on what outfit to share with you. I settled on these Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers sewn up with some animal print sateen, also from Style Maker Fabrics. In close 2nd place came a super cute gold sequin skirt I scored on clearance last year. If I was going to a fancy party I would definitely pair it with that skirt!

This turtleneck was such a quick and easy sew. This was my first time sewing with velvet and I had myself mentally prepared for it to be really tricky, but this particular velvet was so easy! It did make a bit of a mess when cutting, so have your dust buster ready. After cutting there was no shedding at all! The only changes I made to this top was to shorten the turtleneck height by half. High turtlenecks drive me crazy and I always end up folding them down!

My 3rd project is my attempt to copy a velvet dress I saw at Anthropologie. It didn’t quite turn out like the inspo dress, but it’s still super cute!

itsholidaytourcollage

I used the Idyllwild Top and Dress pattern as a starting point and cranberry stretch velvet. To replicate the inspo dress, I widened the sleeves a tad and then made the dress super swingy. I also raised the front neckline and scooped out the back neckline. I think where I went wrong is making mine a little too swingy. For some reason I had in mind that the inspo dress was a swing dress. Guess I should have referred back to it again before cutting. Oh well, I do love a swing dress so maybe it was meant to be!

Use the code: holiday16 for 16% off all ITS patterns! Also enjoy $5 shipping from Style Maker Fabrics and discounted international shipping! These offers expire on 12/11 at midnight CST.

I am thrilled to have added 3 on trend holiday outfits to my handmade closet! Today is the last day of the tour, so make sure you check out what the rest of the amazing seamstresses sewed up!

ITCH TO STITCH HOLIDAY BLOG TOUR 2016
DECEMBER 6th
DECEMBER 9th
DECEMBER 10th
7 comments

  1. All three of your makes are fabulous! I really love the leopard print Bonn shirt. That pattern keeps popping up in my IG feed as well and I really need to make it soon! Thanks for the great sewing inspiration!

Leave a Reply

