Tilly and the Buttons Rosa Shirt Dress Pattern + Video Course Review

Happy Monday everyone! Raise your hand with me if you love a shirt dress, but get a little frustrated when all those little fidly bits don’t come out as perfect as you want them to be! Maybe I’m just a perfectionist, but I have a feeling a lot of you feel the same way. Well, when I saw Tilly of Tilly and the Buttons was making a video course to accompany her new Rosa pattern, I immediately signed up hoping this course would solve all my shirt dress problems. I then got teased with all the images that kept popping up of everyone’s finished Rosa’s as I anxiously waited for the course to start on October 1st.  I was so tempted to go ahead and get started, but kept reminding myself that I needed to be patient and take full advantage of what the course had to offer. I am happy to report, it was definitely worth the wait.

My biggest concern before hitting the “check out” button was whether it was going to be too geared towards beginners for me. While a beginner/someone who has never made a shirt dress before would definitely get the most for their money from this course, I feel I was able to take enough new knowledge away from it that made it worth every penny.

The course is nicely organized into modules for each part of the construction process. This makes it easy to pick up where you left off and to go back and refer to a specific part of the construction process. Once you pay for the course you have access to it for the rest of your life, so you can keep coming back to it as often as you need to.

My favorite section of the video was her Top Ten Tricks for Perfect Top Stitching. She shared some really clever tricks that I will be able to use in way more than just shirt dress making. I loved her tricks for getting the perfect point on your collar too. Tilly was very thorough and the video captured every construction detail. Even without all the tips and tricks, it was so nice to have someone tell me/show me what to do for once, instead of me trying to decipher instructions. I didn’t even have touch the written instructions. The video course really made sewing up my Rosa such an enjoyable experience!

I did have a bit of a hard time deciding on what size to make. I ended up going with my waist/hip size for the whole dress (size 3), despite the fact that my bust size was a size smaller. I am so glad I did this, because it would have actually ended being too small if I graded down a size for my bust. I did go ahead and shorten the pattern by an inch, because I know I like my shirt dresses a little shorter. The fit ended up absolutely perfect and I wouldn’t change a thing! Rosa’s princess seems give it such a figure flattering shape.

Want to see my Rosa in action and learn more about this floral denim from Harts Fabric? Check out my video below!

2 comments

  1. Oh wow, your dress is absolutely stunning!! I LOVE your fabric choice. So glad you enjoyed the online workshop 🙂

  2. LOVE your dress and the fabric! Thanks for reviewing both. Actually, I adore both, as I too love denim, that kind of indigo blue and florals. Gorgeous. : )

Leave a Reply

