Pattern Testing: Rumi Pullover by Cali Faye Collection

Happy Hump Day!

I have always been a huge fan of Cali Faye Collection’s patterns. I gravitate towards oversized, boxy, flowy clothing in both RTW and in handmade and her patterns typically fit into this category. When she posted a “call for testers” on Instagram for her Rumi Pullover, I jumped at the chance to sew it up!

cali-faye-rumi-pullover-2-2

The Rumi Pullover is an oversized top with a dolman sleeve and split hem and it is soooo my style. I love that I can dress it up a tad with skinny jeans or ponte pants (what I am wearing here) and booties. Or I can throw it on with a pair of leggings and feel super snugly while hanging around my house. cali-faye-rumi-pullover-3-2The Rumi is a super quick and easy sew, but you do need to take the time to find exactly the right fabric for it. It’s not designed for lightweight drapey jerseys, which will end up leaving you looking a little sloppy. You will want to choose a medium weight stable or textured knit with barely any stretch. This is my tester version, so I went with this rose sweatshirt fleece I had in my stash from Style Maker Fabrics. This sweatshirt fleece definitely makes the top look a little boxier than it is meant to be, but I still love it. I was dying to get my hands on the wooly knit fabric that Sarah chose for the pattern release and was able to find it in two different colors at my local Joann’s. Sorry, I couldn’t find it online to link you to it, but be sure to check your local Joann’s!cali-faye-rumi-pullover-4-2I also love how the Rumi looks paired with a vest, especially a fun faux fur one! cali-faye-rumi-pullover-5-2

I sewed up an XS and I think the fit is oversized perfection, without overwhelming my frame or making me look frumpy. The sleeves are supposed to fit more snug than they do on my tester version. Sarah ended up taking out some of their width on the final version. The neckline of the Rumi is finished with woven bias tape, which helps keep it from stretching out. I used some leftover liberty bias tape that I had in my stash for mine and I love how pretty it looks on the inside.

I can’t wait to get some more Rumi’s sewn up!

2 comments

  1. That looks like the kind of top I could live in for winter! Looks great – I love the color of your sweatshirt fleece. Can’t wait to see your next version (I too swooned over the ombre in the Cali Faye Rumi Pullover announcement!)

  2. Yes, oversized always! I’ve started adopting a lot of lose fitting t-shirts into my wardrobe and I can do with some of this Rumi pullover loveliness. It suits you quite well too 🙂

Leave a Reply

