Winter White Marianne Dress

Happy Monday everyone! The humidity is finally starting to break here in Charleston and I’m feeling in the fall spirit! I have been dying to sew up another Marianne Dress ever since I first fell in love with this pattern here. I have also been dying to make a winter white textured knit shift dress, since spotting a super cute RTW one on a coworker. I came across this textured winter white double knit on the Style Maker Fabrics website, I knew it needed to become my next Marianne Dress!

winterwhitemarianne1

I absolutely love how it turned out! This textured knit was exactly what I was looking for to replicate the RTW dress. It’s so soft and comfy and was a dream to sew. If you are a newbie to knits, I highly recommend giving double knits a try. They are so unbelievably easy to sew with!

winterwhitemarianne2

I sewed the same size as my original Marianne, which is a 4 in the bust graded out to a 6 through the waist and hips. I love the fit of this pattern. It’s nicely fitted through the bust and has a classic A-line skirt. The only changes I made was to omit the yokes, since I wasn’t using any contrast fabric this time.

winterwhitemarianne3

I was torn between cream buttons with a gold rim or these vintage pale pink ones. I decided on the pale pink, because I think they add a sweet feminine touch to the dress and pairs nicely with the soft shade of cream. The button cuff and how simple it is to add, is still my favorite detail of this pattern.

winterwhitemarianne4

This shade of winter white is great for the fall or early spring. I’m planning on wearing it into the winter paired with a cardigan and some booties. I love this patten even more after finishing this version and would love to sew up another out of some french terry stripes I currently have in my stash. I also love how fast it comes together! It’s the perfect pattern for nap time sewers, beginners, or those who are need of an instant gratification project!

This project is brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew Blogger Team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

9 comments

  1. I love your Marianne dress! I have been planning to omit the yokes as well, because I could not find the right contrast fabric. How did you omit the yoke? Did you make view A and added sleeves or did you make view B?

  2. This dress looks fab on you, fits perfectly and love the idea of a winter white dress, I wear lots of white in the summer then seem to pack it all away for the warm cosy (dark muted) stuff.

  3. This winter white version is beautiful and the pink buttons are the perfect touch. I bought this pattern just after seeing your first version, it is a such a great pattern.

  4. Beautiful color. I can still remember in college (a long time ago!) when I saw a friend in an all white warm-up suit. No one wore all white back then. It was so simple yet striking. Your dress is the same – simple but striking because of all the details. Great job.

  5. […] a cute pattern, but for one reason or another I had been on the fence about buying it.  When I saw Sew Charleston’s winter white version, I was sold.  It’s so feminine and easily dressed up or down.  I love […]

Leave a Reply

