Floral Cropped Sudley Top

I have sewn so many new patterns this month and two of them are by my favorite designer, Megan Nielsen! Today I am sharing my first version of the Sudley Top/Dress from Indiesew. I say first version, because I have some fabric on the way to make the gathered dress. I’ve had my eyes on this pattern ever since it came out and was waiting for it to cool down a bit so I could sew it up with some fall appropriate fabric.

sudley3

Doesn’t this liberty wool challis scream fall with its mustard flowers!

sudley4

I’ve had this fabric in my stash for awhile, but never really knew what I wanted to do with it. I tossed around the idea of a simple elastic waist skirt paired with a pretty cardigan and tall brown boots, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I’m so glad I saved it for the Sudley to come along!

sudley1

This top was a quick and easy sew as most of Megan Nielsen’s patterns tend to be. She holds your hand through constructing the keyhole and as long as you take your time and follow her tips it will come out perfect!

sudley2

The pattern comes with lots of options. You can choose between short sleeves or long sleeves and crop top, blouse, or a gathered dress. She also includes lots of idea for variations. The ties can be left off and the keyhole closed with a hook and eye. The coolest thing about this pattern has to be that the keyhole can be worn in the front or the back, depending on your mood for the day. The keyhole looks super cute in the back and I’ll wear it this way on days I wear my hair up, which is more often than not. If you choose to wear the keyhole in the front it looks super left untied too!

sudley5

As for fit, I went with a size small, despite the fact that my bust said XS, and I’m very happy with the fit. I made the cropped version, which really isn’t super cropped. In all honesty, I went with the cropped version because I was short on fabric, but really wanted the 3/4 length sleeves. I’m glad I was short on fabric, because I really like how this length looks paired with a skirt. I’m planning on making a camel color faux suede skirt and this top will look perfect with it!

This post is brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew Blogger Team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

