Hey June Charleston Dress

Happy Monday everyone! If you are having a case of the Monday blues like me, then maybe my blue palm tree dress will help brighten your day!

charlestondress1

Pretty amazing fabric right? Pretty perfect pattern to pair it with right?!? I think these two were just meant to be!

charlestondress2

The Charleston Dress by Hey June features a fitted bodice with 2 skirt options and 7 sleeve options. Hey June always includes lots of options with her patterns, which means you’re bound to find your perfect combo and get multiple uses out of the pattern. I chose the A-line skirt with pockets and of course the ruffle sleeve. I mean ifI’m going to make a dress out of wild palm trees I might as well go all out and add the ruffle!

charlestondress3charlestondress6

I sewed up a straight size small and it fits perfectly! The only changes I made was to cut an inch off the hem and omit the zipper. If you are omitting the zipper just make sure you remove the seam allowance out of the center back and cut this pattern piece on the fold. I also opted to leave the edge of the ruffle unfinished, which I think is the best option for the thicker fabrics this pattern was designed for. Hey June’s directions were extremely thorough and included lots of tips and tricks along the way. These are some of the most thorough directions I’ve seen in a long time, making this intermediate dress a little more advanced beginner friendly. I even learned a few new things along the way. I don’t sew a ton of princess seams and I never knew you were always supposed to start from the waistline and sew up. Thanks for sharing Hey June!

charlestondress4

Now let’s talk a little more about this amazing textured double knit fabric. I ordered it online from Style Maker Fabrics. Michelle has a great selection of double knit fabrics, which can be a little hard to come by. I have been absolutely obsessed with double knits lately. They are so easy to sew and for those of you that don’t own a serger, double knit fabrics are just as easy to sew on your regular sewing machine. This double knit washed nicely, doesn’t wrinkle, and was a breeze to sew. I chose to hem mine using my coverstitch machine, but double knits finish just as nicely using a twin needle. I highly recommend them for those that are new to sewing knits. Double knit is also the perfect fabric for this pattern. You could also got with a ponte or interlock. You definitely want to choose something with stability and medium weight.

charlesondress5

I absolutely love how this dress turned out. My favorite detail is of course the ruffle. I was torn between the ruffle and the square, so I’m going to have to sew another one with the square. I would also really love to sew one for the fall with a 3/4 sleeve. I will definitely be keeping my eyes open for more double knits to sew up a few more!

This post is brought to you through my participation in the Indiesew Blogger Team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

14 comments

  1. Super dress, it’s such a lovely shape and the fabric is great. I didn’t realise the dress came with so many options, it has just made my ‘to sew’ list

  2. […] I’m headed to Florida this month and this dress just screams Florida to me! I was inspired Sew Charleston’s version and I immediately bought the same fabric. Will be perfect for dinner in Florida. Hoping to […]

Leave a Reply

