Styling The Axel Skirt For Fall

Fall is one of my favorite times of the year. I love the chill in the air and the clothes that come along with it. I dream of days when I need to add a cardigan or light sweater to my outfit! Unfortunately, here in Charleston we have to wait a little longer than most to feel that crisp air. On the plus side, when it does come it lasts through December and after it leaves we are then treated to a very mild “winter”.

You might have noticed a lot of talk over at Indiesew about styling skirts for the fall. Well today is my turn as part of Fall Skirt Week to share how I would style the new Megan Nielsen Axel skirt.

I am a huge fan of Megan Nielsen’s patterns and own most all of them, so I jumped at the chance to sew up the Axel! The Axel skirt is a fitted knit skirt with a front and back center seam and 3 length variations. All of Megan Nielsen’s designs tend to be very practical, which means you will end up wanting to sew them multiple times and find they go with just about everything in your wardrobe. The Axel is no different. I sewed up 2 of the versions and had a very hard time narrowing down the styling options I wanted to share with you. These 2 skirts seriously go with so many different pieces in my closet!

axel3

I was first drawn to this pattern by version 2. I typically like to wear my skirts knee length and I just love those hip sashes! I’ve paired the skirt with the Sew Caroline Florence Kimono. This is also a recent make and I was pleasantly surprised at how beautifully it matches this Axel. I really love the flowy oversized look of the kimono paired with the fitted skirt. I’m wearing my metallic vans for a casual day look, but you could easily dress it for an evening look with some heels. I would categorize this outfit as an early fall look. The colors are still warm, but not too summery. In Charleston, we wear lots of color pretty much year round.

axel4

I chose a mauve ponte de roma fabric that I picked up at Mood Fabrics last fall in NYC. I bought this fabric with a top in mind, buy as soon as I got the Axel in my hands I knew it would be perfect for this pattern. This version only takes a yard of fabric, so it’s super affordable (aka-you can make a bunch of new skirts without feeling guilty)!

My favorite way to style the Axel is with the Laurelhurst.

axel5

axel6

axel7

The Laurelhurst will provide a little more warmth than the kimono, especially out of this amazing textured double knit I scored from Indiesew last year. I think my Toms booties are the perfect compliment to this look. This outfit has me yearning for fall even more now!

After I finished Version 2, I immediately decided I needed to sew Version 1, which is midi length and features a handkerchief hem. I went fabric shopping in my stash and found the absolute perfect drapey ponte just waiting to be made into an Axel. I’m not really sure what color to call this. It’s also slightly mauve, but maybe more heather? Not sure, but it also has an amazing texture to it.

axel1

The midi length is great for the fall, since it will give your legs a little more coverage. I decided to pair the skirt with a simple cream top, so I could draw more attention to the scarf that just so happens to perfectly match the skirt. It’s hard to tell in the picture, but the scarf has the same color “mauve” in it as the skirt!

axel2

I also love the addition of a jean jacket with this skirt. Every girl really needs a good jean jacket in their closet. They are perfect for cool weather and they pretty much go with every outfit!

I am thrilled with my 2 new skirts and look forward to wearing them not only this fall, but pretty much year round. I spent a solid hour playing around with different looks for the fall. I just couldn’t help myself once I got started. I didn’t want to bombard you with too many pictures, but these skirts also look fabulous with my Morris Blazer and cropped version of the Briar top. Until the cooler temps hit, I’ll be wearing it with my new Inari Crop Tee. They are a match made in heaven!

I hope you are enjoying Fall Skirt week and are inspired to start sewing some new skirts to wear this fall! If you need a new skirt pattern to try, Indiesew is offering 15% off all skirt patterns with the code: FALL4SKIRTS
The sale ends today, so hurry over to their site and let me know what skirts you plan to sew!

I’m bringing this post to you as a member of the Indiesew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

5 comments

Leave a Reply

