True Bias Colfax Dress

Hey guys! I hope everyone is having a fabulous summer so far! Sorry for the blog silence, I have been pretty busy working on content for our sewing channel on YouTube!

I am a huge fan of True Bias patterns. I’ve sewn up all of the women’s patterns she has released so far. I blogged about my Roscoe Blouse (definitely sewing up a Roscoe dress for the fall) and you can find the rest of my True Bias makes on Instagram. When she released the Colfax I knew I had to add it to my pattern collection too!

DSCN4949

The Colfax is my favorite release of hers to date. I sewed my first one out of a fun cotton twill elephant print that you can catch a glimpse of in an upcoming Inside the Hem YouTube video. My 2nd one is out of a beautiful shibori lawn from Style Maker Fabrics. This fabric is absolutely perfect for this dress. The classic A-line design allows for the fabric to really show off it’s beauty!

DSCN4958

DSCN4960

The front yoke is a great detail that allows to you play with some contrasting fabric. I have always found True Bias’ directions to be very thorough and her directions for sewing the yoke were no different. If you just take your time, the yoke comes out nice and neat!

DSCN4934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I chose view A, but added in the pockets from view B. For my first one I sewed a size 2 in the bust and graded out to a size 4 for the hips. The 2 is a little snug in the bust for me, so for my 2nd Colfax I decided to sew the side seams through the bust at a 1/4 inch instead of a 1/2 seam allowance. This fit is so much better! For reference, my bust measures 32.5. Also, if I left out the hem facing then I had just enough fabric left over to make a pair of boxer shorts. Instead of the hem facing, I just turned the hem by 1/2 inch. I am 5’4″, so if you’re much taller than me and don’t like to show off your legs, then you might want to add some length before cutting.

DSCN4946

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can not say enough great things about the Colfax dress. It is my favorite make in a very long time. I will definitely be making a 3rd Colfax and am also considering making a Colfax tank! I’ve seen some tester sneak peeks for yet another True Bias pattern release, so I’m anxiously waiting for the reveal! I’m sure it will be one that I need to sew!

I received a pattern of my choosing from Indie Sew as part of the Indie Sew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

3 comments

  1. Your dress is beautiful and I love the fabric ( love all of Style Maker Fabrics). I just finished the Roscoe blouse and love it too.

Leave a Reply

