Roscoe Blouse by True Bias

Happy almost Friday everyone! Do you ever have just one silly little thing left to complete a project, but for some reason it takes you a month to get it together to finish it? Ugh! I’m so annoyed with myself! For some reason I just could not get these wrist bands finished on this top. I’m not sure why, because I was loving how it was turning out and I love the finish product even more! Anyways, it’s done and now I can finally share it with you!

DSCN4797

The Roscoe Blouse is a peasant blouse with raglan sleeves, a gathered neckline, and ties. There are options for a blouse, mini dress/tunic, or mid-calf dress. The mini dress/tunic or dress also have the option of adding a gathered ruffle at the bottom.

DSCN4790

When I hear the word “peasant” I typically think old fashioned and frumpy. The Roscoe Blouse is more of flowy boho style peasant blouse, which is right up my alley. I do think this top could look a little frumpy if you don’t pick the right fabric though. You want a fabric with lots of drape. Think silk, rayon, crepe, etc. I made mine out of a poly crepe from fabric.com I think this fabric was the perfect choice for this top. It’s definitely not the easiest fabric to sew with, but if you’re a newbie to silky/shifty fabrics then the Roscoe is a great place to practice. It’s raglan sleeves and no darts make an easier sew for these trickier fabrics. The pattern itself is an easy sew, it’s the fabric options that work best for it that make it a little more time consuming.

DSCN4798

I didn’t have quite enough fabric for my top, but I new these birds were meant to be a Roscoe. I ended up taking a couple inches out of the bodice length and 1 inch out of the sleeves. The pattern is drafted for someone who is 5’7 and I’m only 5’4, so it worked out just fine.

DSCN4800

My bird version is actually a practice version for some really special silk I picked up in NYC. I wanted to make sure I liked the top and fit before cutting into my precious silk. I am happy to report the finished project passed the test!

DSCN4792

Sorry the scenery lacks its usual Charleston flare. The forecast for this weekend is looking rainy, so I begged my husband to leave work before dark for once to snap some pictures. The bugs were eating us alive, so we did the best we could before making a run for the car.

I was provided a pattern of my choosing as part of the Indiesew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are always my own!

8 comments

  1. I am notorious for leaving one last little detail on a make undone for some time. Buttons are my worst! Your top is great and I agree this fabric is a perfect pairing for this pattern. Love it!

  2. […] I’ve sewn up all of the women’s patterns she has released so far. I blogged about my Roscoe Blouse (definitely sewing up a Roscoe dress for the fall) and you can find the rest of my True Bias makes […]

Leave a Reply

