Halifax Hoodie

Happy sunday everyone! It’s an extra happy sunday over here, because I’m officially on winter break and I’ve started my vacation off right with a super comfy new make!

DSCN4779

This is the Halifax Hoodie by Hey June Handmade and you can find it over at Indiesew.

DSCN4774

I am obsessed with sewing sweatshirts. They are definitely my favorite thing to wear and sew. I already own quite a few sweatshirts patterns, but the Halifax Hoodie comes with 5 completely different versions unlike anything I already own, which completely justifies needing to sew up yet another sweatshirt pattern.

DSCN4775

I chose view B, because I love the look of the twisted side seams and hi-lo hem. I picked up this amazing thick marled french terry from Metro Textiles on our recent girls weekend fabric shopping in NYC. This fabric is so soft and snuggly and the perfect weight for this pattern. This sweatshirt is a quick and easy sew and the directions were very thorough. I sewed the whole thing with my serger, only turning on my sewing machine to match up my bodice seams with the hem band seams in the front. I always tack my seams down with my machine when I’m sewing with knits. Seams like to shift when serging and you have to be really careful with pins or you risk cutting a pin in half with the serger knife. Matching all your seams up with your machine first makes for a much neater finished garment!

DSCN4771

My new sweatshirt was perfect for our sunday walk around town and I will definitely be throwing it back on tomorrow morning to make the 9 hour drive home to my parent’s house in WV for Christmas! When I get back, I have plans to sew up another 1 of the 5 versions out of some striped french terry that I also scored in NYC. I hope you all have a very merry Christmas! See you all next year!

I was provided a pattern of my choosing from Indiesew as part of the Indiesew blogger team. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own!

4 comments

  1. Your sweatshirt is very cute and comfy looking! When you say “match your seams up with your machine” do you mean sew the seams first and then serge them? I just got a serger and am interested and fearful of all things serger and knits!

    Also, do you match your thread to each fabric, or use a neutral color? 4 cones of thread is…scary!

    Happy holidays!

    • Hey! I just sew over where I need my seams to match up with my sewing machine and then I put it through the serger. I really love when my thread matches, so more often than not I buy matching thread. If you don’t want to invest in all 4 cones. At the very least you need the cone that will show in your seam to match and then the other 3 cones can be a different color.

Leave a Reply

