Jasper Sweater/Dress

I don’t usually get excited by the thought of winter weather, but my most recent make has me craving some super chilly temperatures!

DSCN4757

Meet Jasper by Paprika Patterns from Indiesew! My outfit got some really funny looks from passer-bys, since it was close to 80 degrees here today and I looked like I was dressed for the coldest of days in Charleston. Oh well, I just had to photograph it so I could share it with you!

DSCN4758

Sewing the Jasper was my first experience with Paprika Patterns and I have to say, I am very impressed. I was really worried about the welt pockets, since they are not a strong point of mine, but she has an online tutorial that walks you through each step with lots of pictures. The welts still take precision to make perfect and I still have a love/hate relationship with them, but the tutorial definitely took care of all my confusion about how to construct them.

DSCN4762

I think my welts turned out pretty darn good! They are so functional and a nice/fancy alternative to your traditional kangaroo pocket.

DSCN4760

The rest of the construction comes together pretty quickly and easily. I absolutely love wearing and sewing sweatshirts. I am really growing quite a large collection of handmade sweatshirts, but the Jasper is so different from all my other ones that I felt it justified making yet another one. Prior to Jasper, I didn’t own a single sweatshirt with princess seams, that’s a good enough excuse…right?!?

DSCN4766

The hood of the Jasper is also very different then my Papercut Patterns Undercover hoodies. This baby is going nowhere on the windiest of winter days, while walking Piper on the beach. The Jasper also comes with the option to sew a stand collar instead of the hood. I was really torn on which one to choose, but I really do use the hoods of my hooded sweatshirts a lot. Also, you can choose between a sweatshirt or a dress length.

DSCN4764

The Jasper is drafted for heavy weight sweatshirt fleece with minimal stretch and drape. I would definitely try and stick with her fabric recommendations if you decide to make your own. It would be hard to achieve the intended effect for the hood or collar if you went with a lighter/drapier fabric. I’ve been hoarding this quilted knit fabric from B&J fabrics in NYC forever. I was so afraid to cut into it because I loved it so much and it is pretty pricey. I am so glad I held out for the Jasper. B&J actually has quite a few other quilted knits that would work great for this pattern. Just search under their patterned & textured section. I didn’t have quite enough fabric for my Jasper, but I was determined to use this fabric. I ended up having to shorten the dress length by 4 inches to make it more of a tunic length. I’m actually really happy with this length. I ended up running out of fabric and had to use black ponte for one of my pocket pieces, which is really not that big of a deal.

DSCN4761

If you look closely, you may notice that my Jasper has some wavy seams at the hem and hood. After I was all finished sewing, I was scrolling through my blog feed and noticed this post about wavy seams when serging bulky knit fabrics by Indiesew. It wasn’t until I read this that I realized I often have wavy seams on my sweatshirts. It’s not that I just never noticed, but more that I thought it was just a “natural” part of sewing with these heavier fabrics. Well, now I know that it doesn’t have to be that way! I so wish I had seen this post a few hours earlier, because my serger was having a really tough time with this heavy knit! She gives the adjustments she makes for her Brother 1034d serger, which is exactly what I have, so I’m definitely going to give this a try when I sew up the Laurelhurst I just finished cutting out.

I was provided a pattern of my choosing from Indiesew as part of the Indiesew blogger team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

8 comments

  1. Perfect fabric choice for the Jasper, looks great. It’s getting nearer the top of my to do list, I’ve some silver grey French terry lined up for it. Thanks for sharing the link to fix the wavy seams, it amazing how a little fine tuning can make such a big difference. šŸ˜€

  2. That fabric is awesome….did you quilt that or did it come that way? Great choice for that top and you did an amazing job on those pocket welts!

Leave a Reply

