Remix the Stitch

Happy Friday everyone! I’m super pumped to be sharing my remix versions of the Greenwood Tank by Straight Stitch Designs with you today, especially since today is Straight Stitch Designs 1 year anniversary! Woohoo! Happy Anniversary!

Sooooo I got a little obsessed with remixing the Greenwood. Once I got started I just couldn’t stop! So far I’ve made 6 different versions and I still have a few more ideas I want to try. It’s just so quick and easy to sew and all my variations took around a yard of fabric…such a great stash/scrap buster!

DSCN4716

First up, I simply copied the width and hem of one of my favorite Anthropologie tanks. This is such an easy change up! I simply traced the upper bodice of my greenwood and then laid the RTW tank on my paper and traced it, blending the lines into the greenwood. Just add in a seam allowance and you’re ready to cut and sew!

DSCN4712

Love how the curved hem turned out!

DSCN4714

I also really love this length with my skinny jeans for a warm fall day/cool summer evening!

DSCN4709

Next up, we have a plain ol’ greenwood tank, but wait…..

DSCN4708

…..just kidding! This post is called “remix the stitch” after all right? I added a faux button placket down the back of this one. This is actually another copy from an Anthropologie top. I’ve been wanting to try and replicate it for ages and I’m so proud of myself for figuring it out! I was actually just in the store the other day and I saw another top with the same faux button placket.

DSCN4706

I just love how it turned out and will definitely be adding more faux button plackets to future projects.

DSCN4721

Finally, well at least for this post, we have a marriage between the Greenwood and the Foxglove Tank by Baste and Gather.

DSCN4718

For me, the Greenwood and the Foxglove combination make my perfect tank top. I love the hem, I love the length, I love the swinginess, and I love that the Greenwood part of it means I don’t have to wear a strapless bra with it. Don’t get me wrong, I love a racerback tank, but if I’m wearing my tank to work then I can’t stand wearing a strapless bra for 8+ straight hours.

DSCN4719

I love my remixed greenwoods! I’m the queen of cardigans, so even though summer is coming to an end I’ll still be wearing them throughout the year. Most likely with a few of my new Laurelhurst cardigans that I will be sharing with you soon! By the way, you can snag your own copies of any of Kimberly’s patterns for 50% off right now! She is also doing a huge giveaway on her blog today!

Make sure you check out what the rest of these lovely bloggers have sewn up!

Tuesday, September 8th: Meg Cookin’ and Craftin’ | Jennifer Ginger Peach Studio
Wednesday, September 9th: Ajaire Call Ajaire | Heidi Handmade Frenzy | Stacey Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts
Thursday, September 10th: Melissa Rebel & Malice | Annika Näh-Connection | Abby Sew Much Ado
Friday, September 11th: Katie It’s Hard to Hear Up Here | Jane Buzzmills | Lisa Mabey She Made It
Saturday, September 12th: Elena Randomly Happy | Allie Indiesew | Jess If Only They Would Nap
Monday, September 14th: Jaime Made By Jaime | Lauren BASTE + GATHER | Sara Made by Sara
Tuesday, September 15th: Audrey Skirt Fixationy | Teri Fa Sew La | Hayley Welcome to the Mouse House
Wednesday, September 16th: Emi Just Add Fabric | Rachael Imagine Gnats | Teresa Dandelion Drift
Thursday, September 17th: Kaysie | KZJO’STUDIO Rita Conversas de Hermanas | Stephanie Swoodson Says
Friday, September 18th: Andreia In a Manner of Sewing | Nienke Pienkel | Abbey Sew Charleston

7 comments

  1. I LOVE the black dot version! I’ve been looking at her patterns and never really noticed the Greenwood, but this post has me taking a second look. Did you use wovens for some of these? And if so, did you change up the sizing to accomodate?

  2. Love your remixes! Do you happen to have tutorial on the faux button placket? I’d love to add that to a tank too! TIA!

Leave a Reply

