Sewlebrity Sewalong and Giveaway!

I’m back again! Surprisingly soon, right?!? Well, I’m back so quickly because it’s my turn to share my project as part of the Sewlebrity Sewalong! What’s the Sewlebrity Sewalong? It’s a year long sewalong featuring projects from the Just for You: Selfish Sewing Projects from Your Favorite Sew Can She Bloggers. This book was written by Sarah Markos of Blue Susan Makes and Caroline of Sew Can She. The book is available in both paperback and electronically and includes 24 projects, such as aprons, bags, skirts, a dress, etc. Lots to choose from! For my project, I sewed up the Night Circus skirt, which is a six-gore skirt with a side zipper.

night circus skirt 1

The Night Circus skirt is meant to be sewn using bottom-weight fabric, which I surprisingly didn’t have readily available in my massive fabric stash. I ended up finding this great floral denim at my local Joann. The examples in the book actually show the skirt panels sewn in alternating fabrics. I couldn’t find any bottom-weight fabric that would work for this, but the black and white version in the book looks super cute!

night circus 2

Since I chose to use all one fabric for my skirt and I chose a busy fabric, you can’t really see the panels clearly in the pictures. I promise they are there though! I’m not sure if it has something to do with the panels, but this skirt is super figure flattering. It made my bum virtually disappear, which is really hard to do!

night circus 3

The skirt was a quick and easy sew and is perfect for beginners. Based on my hip measurement in the sizing guide, I chose I size 4. The skirt ended up being huge in the waist. I probably took in about 3 inches out of the waist and 1/2 inch out of the hips. I actually just took the skirt in at the sides seams. This is definitely not the correct way, but I was feeling pretty lazy. I should have taken a little bit out of each gore at the waist; however, you can’t tell that the side gores are narrower than the others, unless you go and measure them!

night circus 4

I really love my new floral denim skirt! I can really picture wearing it to work with a button up or simple navy blue top or really any color since denim matches everything! Now for really fun part, you can win your own copy of the Just for You book to sew up your own Night Circus Skirt, or any of the other 23 projects that fit your fancy! USA residents can choose between an electronic copy or hard copy. Don’t worry my international followers, you can enter to win an electronic copy! The giveaway will end Sunday at 12:00am EST. It’s summertime, so we are keeping things simple today (and rafflecopter was being to frustrating for me to deal with). Just follow my blog either through bloglovin or right here and comment below to enter! Good luck!

53 comments

  1. I live this skirt! I’ve been looking for summer skirt inspiration and I think I’ve found it!!! It looks quite becoming on you.

Leave a Reply

