Mercer Tunic

Hello everyone! I hope everyone has been enjoying their summer! I sure have, which I why my blog has been so silent for so long! Sorry! I do have quite a few blog posts planned for the rest of the summer, so this won’t be the last your hear from me for months again.

Today I’m sharing the Mercer Tunic I sewed up the other day.

DSCN4619

The Mercer Tunic was designed by a “new to me” pattern designer, Whitney Deal. I “googled” her and it turns out she designs wedding dresses and bridesmaid dresses! Her work is beautiful!

DSCN4620

The Mercer Tunic is described as “a loose-fitting tunic with gathered front and back yoke and a button-up front placket”. You’ll notice my placket doesn’t have buttons yet. I currently don’t have any buttons in my stash and I really have no idea what kind of buttons I want to add to it. Any thoughts?

DSCN4621

I was between an XS and S according to the size chart, so I decided to cut a small. The tunic looked huge on me, so I ended up taking it in a ton. If you are between sizes, I would recommend sizing down, since it’s so loose and “flowy”.

DSCN4623

This was my first time sewing this kind of button placket. I found Whitney’s directions very thorough to complete the placket and I’m pleased with how neat my turned out. The pattern is rated intermediate and I would agree due to the placket. The rest of the top was a breeze to sew!

DSCN4626

I like the Mercer Tunic, but I’m not sure I’m in love with my fabric combination. I used liberty scraps for the yoke, placket, and bands, which is a perfect match to the green fabric I bought at Mood on our NYC fabric shopping trip. Maybe it’s the combination of the stiffer lawn with the drapey fabric? After uploading the pictures, I have also decided I don’t like the green fabric with the color blue of my jeans. They are just too blue with the green fabric and are really clashing with the beautiful shade of green.

DSCN4628

I was provided a pattern of my choosing as part of the Indie Sew Blogger Team. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own!

9 comments

  1. Love your green fabric – and I don’t mind it at all with the jeans that color. I agree with you on the Liberty fabric – probably not the best choice πŸ™‚ I think I’d have liked even a crisp white better with that pretty, rich green. Did you do any adjusting on the sleeves? To me, they look like they’re in need of about another inch or two of length or something to ‘hang’ right. Other, much better sewists than I could figure that one out πŸ™‚

    Love the overall shape of the tunic – and your length is great! For the record…that color green looks fabulous on you! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Actually, I love your fabric combinations! Great way to use those beautiful Liberty scraps up! Looks fabulous! 😊

  3. Hi Abbey! I found you through IG and am the newest follower of your blog! Now that you mention it, I see what you mean about the liberty fabric not being the *perfect* counterpoint to the green. That said, I never would have noticed if you hadn’t pointed it out. Thanks for introducing me to Whitney Deal and the Mercer Tunic. This is just the kind of RTW top I wear all the time.

  4. I love the fabric/color combination! And I would leave the placket just as is – it doesn’t look at all like it needs buttons. Beautiful!

  5. Lovely top, I like the fabric choice. I didn’t realise you had buttons to add and I liked the sort of V effect. Because the colours are lovely I would pick buttons which blended in, as you don’t need any added pop.

Leave a Reply

