Deer and Doe Bruyere

Well I’m stuck at home on the couch with the flu, so I guess now would be a good time to catch up on my blogging! You might have caught a picture of my Bruyere a couple of months ago on Instagram. I promptly took pictures of it, have worn it quite a few times, but never got around to blogging it!

DSCN4465

This Deer and Doe Bruyere top is by far my most favorite make and also the one I am the most proud of! I very hesitantly purchased the pattern due to the fact that it is labeled as “advance”, but after seeing so many amazing versions I just couldn’t resist. After sewing it up, I really think this pattern is more intermediate than advance. I really took my time putting it together and I can therefore not so modestly report that you could pick my Bruyere off the rack at JCrew and not think twice that it was handmade. I am PROUD, very proud!

DSCN4466

The only thing I’m not sure of is how fitted this top is supposed to be. Mine is not super fitted through the waist. I am fine with the fit, but I have seen a lot of versions that look more fitted than mine. I’m thinking I’m going to grade down a size through the waist for my next one.

DSCN4473

The fabric is Robert Kaufman Chambray Dot in Indigo. I absolutely love this fabric! I used it for my Marigold Dress and I’m still not sick of it. I really want to use it again for a blazer and a pair of shorts.

DSCN4474

I have so many plans to make more Bruyeres. I would love to make a sleeveless version for the spring to wear with skinny white jeans or even shorten it to make a top to wear with shorts. DSCN4472

Sorry if this post is a little brief and lacking in details, my brain is a little foggy with the flu! Hopefully I’ll be better soon, because I have a project I’ll be sharing as part of Selfish Sewing Week next week!

16 comments

  1. I love the look of yours being slightly less fitted in the waist – have been wondering about this pattern but unsure how fitted it should be. Your fabric choice is great!

  2. Very nice and, per usual, you look great in it! I love that chambray dot, too. I’m the one who emailed you recently because I had tried to follow you via email and didn’t get the confirmation link so I’m following you on Bloglovin as you suggested. Just wanted to let you know! HAHA, like it’s gonna make your day and cure your flu~ Anyway, hope you get well very quickly!

  3. I think your looks great. Mine (almost identical) is much mire fitted, but that is a look I like. I love the pattern and with French seams the inside is so neat. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. I’m not surprised that you are proud of this make. It’s gorgeous! Well done!
    I’ve not yet tried a shirt/blouse. Still working my way up to it. There seems so many different procedures!

  5. Hi Abbey! I am planning a road trip for may that will take me through your beautiful city. I was wondering if you have any quilty/sewing recommendations of stores or museums that are not to be missed. Thanks so much!
    xo Leah

    • Hi! You will love Charleston! I’m not big on museums, but I can give you plenty of other recommendations if you are interested. The only sewing shop is a cute little place called Five Eighth Seams in West Ashley.

Leave a Reply

