Delia Creates Pleated Pencil Skirt

Happy Sunday everyone! I’m not experiencing the usual Sunday evening blues, since it’s a 3 day weekend AND I have an awesome new completed sewing project to share with you!

 

pleated pencil skirt 6

Meet my new metallic plaid pencil skirt! Eeek….I love it!

pleated pencil skirt 2

The pattern is the pleated pencil skirt by Delia Creates, which you can purchase here at Indiesew. For those of you that haven’t heard about Indiesew, a fabulous website for pdf patterns created by individual pattern designers, you can read more about it in my post.

pleated pencil skirt 4

I’ve been eyeing this pattern for awhile now, but was afraid to give it a try since I’ve never really been a pencil skirt kind of girl. After viewing the pleated pencil skirt creations added to the Indiesew website(for the millionth time) and repeatedly finding myself clicking on this wool brocade fabric from Mood I had pinned, I decided I just had to give it a try. I was going to link to the fabric on Mood’s website for you, but I just checked and sadly it is sold out. I guess this fabric truly was meant to be mine! Sorry!

pleated pencil skirt 3

I was nervous about what size to choose and scared the skirt would be too tight, so I decided to size up and sewed up the lining first to check the fit. It was too big, so I cut the pattern down to a straight 6 and the fit is spot on! I’m 5’4″ and when I held up the pattern piece I felt like the length looked silly on me. I ended up shortening the skirt by 4 inches prior to cutting out my fabric. Delia gives very specific instructions for shortening and lengthening the skirt, so helpful! I opted to stitch my hem down invisibly by hand, which is my favorite method for a perfectly invisible hem.

pleated pencil skirt 1

This was my first time sewing with a wool fabric. I followed the directions in this post to preshrink it (thanks to my awesome friend Amber at soisewedthis for researching it and sharing with me). Hopefully it worked, because there is no room for shrinkage in a pencil skirt! The fabric was easy to sew with and pressed beautifully. I wouldn’t want to sew with it without a serger though. It frayed like crazy and would be hard to neaten the edges with a zigzag stitch. It also wrinkles pretty easily.

pleated pencil skirt 8

I found the directions thorough and easy to follow, making this a great beginner project. Another bonus, if you don’t print the instructions, the pattern is only 8 pages to tape together! I’m so glad I finally decided to give a pencil skirt at try. Maybe all the store bought pencil skirts I’ve tried on just weren’t the right fit and I needed to make one from scratch. I have some beautiful pale pink fabric that I purchased during our girls fabric shopping weekend in NYC. I’m thinking it will be perfect for a spring version of this skirt! Spring is seeming really far away at the moment, so I might need to find another fabric to hold me over in the meantime.

I was provided a pattern of my choosing from the Indiesew website. All thoughts and opinions are of course my own.

9 comments

  1. Nice skirt!! I have also been stalking this pattern and the creations on IndieSew. And I usually can’t find a good fit on store pencil skirts, as well. I think you’ve convinced me to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

