Papercut Patterns Saiph Tunic

It’s Sunday evening and my holiday break has sadly come to an end. It’s back to work tomorrow for me. At least I’m going back to work feeling very satisfied with the sewing projects I have completed over break. I was even able to fit in some much needed relaxation and quality time spent with my family, along with some serious organization/cleaning projects I have been putting off for way to long. Before I go to bed early for the first time in 2 weeks, I wanted to share another one of my completed projects with you, the Papercut Patterns Saiph Tunic.

DSCN4454

This was not a planned project at all. I was organizing my patterns and found myself reading the suggested fabrics for the Saiph. I bought the Saiph Tunic because I really liked the style, but had yet to find a fabric that inspired me to make it. I knew the Saiph Tunic is meant to be sewn with woven fabrics, but I had never noticed that thick/stable knits are also listed as one of recommended fabrics. I immediately began to envision the Saiph with this floral ponte from Girl Charlee that I’ve had in my stash for awhile. This fabric almost became another pair of floral Hudson pants and if I would not have organized my patterns it probably would have by the end of the week!

DSCN4458

I love the keyhole back! This ponte knit makes the tunic so comfy. I love it paired with leggings and my new booties. The model on the pattern is wearing her tunic without leggings and it is very short. She looks fantastic in it, but this just isn’t a look I feel comfortable trying to pull off. I’m only 5’4 and the tunic is the perfect length for me when I’m wanting to pair something with leggings. If you’re much taller than me you might want to consider adding some length to the pattern. You could really alter the length of the tunic to achieve many different looks. I could lengthen it and wear it without leggings or shorten it and wear it as a top with jeans. Lots of possibilities!

DSCN4461

The tunic came together easily and quickly. From my past experience with Papercut Patterns they run a little on the big side. I ended up sewing an XS in the bodice and graded out to a small through the waist and hips. I’m very happy with the fit!

DSCN4464

The Saiph Tunic includes two different hem options, a flounce hem (mine) or a straight hem with interesting hidden front pockets. I will definitely be sewing anther one with this other hem option. I want to make it with a knit again, so I will be keeping my eyes open for the perfect fabric. I’m thinking a heather gray sweatshirt knit. Let me know if you come across any online!

12 comments

  1. Oh the is so cute! And it looks cozy for winter. Bonus points for a little stash busting…something I really need to do.

  2. The tunic looks great on you Abbey! This fabric is a perfect choice for this pattern I htink. Being knit I can only imagine how comfy this it to wear! I don’t htink I would pull off the no leggings look either!

  3. I have been wanting to make this for so long but worried it was too short. It looks great with leggings. Thanks for the review!

  4. Loving your blog! I’m a first time reader. I’m starting my first Deer and Doe Sureau and found your blog through a bit of a web quest for any potential issues with the manufacture. I’m certainly going to be getting some inspiration from you in the future.

  5. I haven’t given much thought to Papercut patterns recently, but I love your tunic and now that they have PDFs, I just might order it! I have a black and white Ponte in my stash that I’ve wanted to use for some time and this seems like a great option.

Leave a Reply

