Seamwork Oslo Cardigan

I hope everyone is enjoying the holidays! My family came to visit us here in Charleston for Christmas. I was so excited to give my mom her presents this Christmas! I did good this year! I made her some infinity scarves, a pair of True Bias Hudson Pants (check them out on instagram), and a beautiful teal Colette Moneta Dress. Sadly I forgot to snap a picture of her in her Moneta, but she loved it! I also surprised her with the Bengal jewelry clutch that she hinted she would love to have, some Alex and Ani bangles, and a few other goodies!

Now that Christmas is over, my Etsy business has slowed down from holiday orders, and I have a whole week off work, I finally have a chance to do some much needed sewing for myself! So far I have made floral Hudson Pants, floral Margot Pajamas (from Love at First Stitch), and now a floral cardigan. Do you think I have an obsession with floral fabric?

DSCN4438
The Oslo Cardigan is everything I dreamed it would be. The pattern is from Colette Patterns brand new and super awesome sewing magazine called Seamwork. For $6 a month you get 3 sewing patterns along with the free online magazine. I’m pretty sure I signed up for Seamwork within seconds of its release after seeing this cardigan in the issue.

 

DSCN4445

DSCN4446

 

DSCN4449

DSCN4450

I purchased this floral sweater knit from Wanderlust Fabrics forever ago and I’m so glad I waited for the perfect project for it. The Oslo was so worth the wait! This was my first time sewing with a sweater knit and this one was not much different then sewing with any other knit fabric. I wouldn’t want to sew with it without my serger though. I constructed the entire cardigan on my serger except for hemming with my twin needle. My measurements fell in the XS range, but I decided too size up since I like my cardigans loose. For the next one (more like 5), I will go down to the XS. I’ve been looking for the perfect cardigan pattern forever, since I’m always cold and therefore pretty much wear a cardigan to work every day. This cardigan came together so easily and was such a satisfying sew! I have some mustard knit in my stash right now that I’m really hoping I bought enough of to make another one.

DSCN4443

8 comments

  1. I’ve been itching to spy an Oslo in the flesh, so thanks for the inspiration. I need to find time to visit my local fabric shop to purchase something suitable. Your floral print looks great 🙂

  2. Lovely cardigan! The floral print is so pretty. Your mom is a lucky lady to receive beautiful handmade gifts from you. How special!

  3. I’ve just finished one in boucle (will be blogging it at the weekend) and it’s super cosy. I thought there would be loads of bloggers making it, but yours is the first I’ve read! Love your version and might make another with a finer knit!

  4. Your Oslo looks great! I was on the fence about stitching one up, but after seeing how great yours turned out, I made one up right away. You’re right – it really was a satisfying sew; now I’m contemplating how many I can have in my closet before it gets weird. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

