The Sew Fab Pattern Sale- Winter Women’s Bundle- Capital Hill Top

Sew Fab Winter 2014 Header

Last week I shared my Margot Tunic from Violet Field Threads as part of the Sew Fab Winter Women’s Bundle. I told you I would be back with another make from the Sew Fab Winter Women’s Bundle, so here I am sharing my Capital Hill by Straight Stitch Designs. Kimberly is a relatively new pattern designer with the Capital Hill being her third pattern release. Although she is new to the block, I am really loving what I am seeing from her and the quality of her patterns are great!

DSCN4433

The Capital Hill pattern is a knit tunic or dress length (I know…mine is neither) pattern with the option of using woven fabric as the skirt portion. It features pretty pleats at the center front of the bodice.

DSCN4436

I have a top from Anthropolgie that is very similar to this pattern (knit bodice with woven skirt), that I have been wanting to try and replicate for a very long time. The Capital Hill seemed like the perfect chance to finally give it a try! I chose this grey knit I purchased from Girl Charlee for the bodice, because it paired perfectly with this leftover AMH voile I have been saving from my Colette Peony dress. I didn’t have enough fabric to make the circle skirt or the gathered skirt, so I decided just to make it A-line. The skirt is also about 2 inches shorter than I would like it due to the small amount of fabric I had leftover. Oh well, I still really love how these 2 fabrics look paired together!

The top came together easily as the directions were great. For some reason, I decided to size up. As you can see, this was a bad decision, because my top is too big. I think this is why my pleats are not laying as nicely as Kimberly’s pleats. I think a heavier knit skirt instead of this the light woven skirt would also help pull the the bodice down making the pleats do what they are supposed to do. I should have done a better job checking my fit as I sewed, but with all the Christmas present sewing I still have to do, I got a little lazy.

Winter 2014 Sale Large Collage

The Sew Fab Bundle sale ends tomorrow, 12/15, so you better hurry up and purchase yours here!

4 comments

  1. Great fabrics! and lovely blouse!
    I was just checking out your instagram posts — can you send me a link to the roll paper on Amazon that you purchased? Someone else mentioned Swedish tracing paper — do you know the difference? Do you have link to that as well? Thanks!+

Leave a Reply

