Sewaholic Belcarra Top and Me Made May- Week 3 Roundup

I’ve been on a roll with finishing sewing projects these past 2 weeks! I’ve finished my By Hand London Anna dress that I had started back in October, but then it got cold and I abandoned it for cold weather projects. I’ve also finished my Sewaholic Gabriola, which I had started when it was first released, but had to put it aside to work on projects for the artist market. My most recent make is the new Sewaholic Belcarra top. This pattern was so quick and easy to sew up that I was easily able to finish it in a couple evenings after work.

Sewaholic Belcarra Top 001 Sewaholic Belcarra Top 003 Sewaholic Belcarra Top 006 Sewaholic Belcarra Top 007 Sewaholic Belcarra Top 008 Sewaholic Belcarra Top 009

One thing I have realized from Me Made May so far, is that I’m in serious need of more tops. Dresses are my favorite thing to make, but wearing dresses every single day gets a little tiring. I am so happy with how this top turned out and how easy it was to make, that I’ll be making many more tops with this pattern. I chose view C, but left off the pocket since my print was so busy. I would have loved to have had  a solid voile in one of the colors in the fabric for the pocket. This top has nice shape to it, it’s not just a straight box. I think the cuffs add a nice touch. I sewed a straight 4 and made no adjustments to the fit. The voile fabric is Mojave in Illuminated by Leah Duncan for Art Gallery Fabrics. I purchased my pattern and fabric from my local shop, Five Eighth Seams. I’m working on some bow ties for a local shop at the moment, but as soon as I get those done I think I’ll make the Christine Haynes Emery Dress! Yes, I know….I just said I needed to make more tops…..

Me Made May Week 3 Roundup

Day 11: Pattern- Prefontaine Shorts by Made By Moxie, Fabric- Sarah Jane Anchors Away, I was lucky enough to pattern test these shorts. I’ll be doing a full blog post on these awesome shorts at a later date. These shorts will be released at part of the next Perfect Pattern Parcel!

photo 1-6

Day 12: Pattern- Colette Iris shorts, Fabric- Amy Butler home decor, at class at Five Eighth Seams working on my weekender bag

photo 2-5

Day 13: Pattern- April Rhodes Date Nights Dress, Fabric- Anna Maria Horner Rayon

 

photo-18 photo 3-3

Day 14: Pattern- April Rhodes Peplum/Party dress, Fabric- pretty floral cotton lawn that I picked up at The Fabric Store on our trip to LA

photo 4-3

Day 15: Pattern: Made By Ray Washi Dress, Fabric- Amy Butler’s Harriet’s Sugar

photo 5-4 photo 1-7

Day 16: Pattern- traced from my favorite Ann Taylor Loft shirt, Fabric- mint lace from Lace Fabrics on Etsy.

photo 2-6

Day 17: Pattern- Sewaholic Belcarra top, Fabric- Mojave in Illuminate voile by Leah Duncan for Art Gallery Fabrics

photo 3-4

We are getting ready to go out for brunch. Maybe I’ll wear my new Anna Dress for day 18!

 

15 comments

  1. Isn’t the Belcarra top great?! So versatile & such quick gratifying sew. Love the print – looks great paired with a dark pair of jeans, that’s for sure!

  2. Those shorts are really cute, looking forward to your post about them. I’m in the same boat regarding tops – but I just ordered the Emery pattern! Had held out but in the end I couldn’t resist this week’s sale price. Your new Belcarra looks great!

  3. Beautiful clothes!!! Love the fabrics you have chosen. What fabric line/color is the Anna Maria Horner rayon? Is it Field Study Rayon Challis in Lurk? (this one: http://www.hawthornethreads.com/fabric/designer/anna_maria_horner/field_study_rayon_challis/sinister_swarm_in_lurk)
    Another question — I have the Washi dress pattern, but the neckline on your dress looks different. Is this an alteration that you came up with? If not, where can I find the alteration pattern for this dress?
    Great work and beautiful sewing!

  4. I love your Belcarra top! The fabric is gorgeous 🙂 I really like your outfits for me-made-may. Those Prefontaine shorts will be put on my to-sew-wish list asap!

  5. Wow, you have so many beautiful, hand sewn items in your wardrobe. You clearly have a great eye for matching fabrics to projects too, a skill I’m still a little hit and miss on.

Leave a Reply

