Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt and Me Made May- Week 1 Roundup

This is my second version of Megan Nielsen’s Cascade skirt. I actually made it last summer and for some reason never got around to blogging it or my first one! I really love Megan Nielsen’s patterns. To date I have made 4 Kelly skirts, 5 Briar tops, 1 Banksia top, and 2 Cascade skirts. Now that is some pattern love!

Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 012

Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 006 Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 009 Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 010 Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 013 Megan Nielsen Cascade skirt 014

For this version, I chose the button closure and chopped a ton off the hem. I want to say I might have taken 5 inches off the back? Whatever I did, I’m very happy with the new length! This skirt is an easy sew for a beginner…just a little time consuming due to miles of hemming to create the beautiful “cascading” effect! Totally worth it! I chose I a beautiful voile by Anna Maria Horner that I purchased at my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams. I purchased my pattern at Pink Chalk Fabrics, one of the only shops in the US that I’ve found that carries Megan’s patterns and also ships for free!

If you follow me on Instagram, then you’ve probably noticed I’m participating in Me Made May. This is my first year participating, since I didn’t really get in to the whole social media sewing community until this past fall (yes, I was living under a rock). I am absolutely loving seeing the daily handmade outfit pictures on Instagram! So much sewing inspiration! I have yet to make my pledge official to the public, so here it goes…..

I, Abbey of Sew Charleston, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavor to wear one item of handmade clothing each day for the duration of May 2014.

Day 1- FAIL! So sad to start my first Me Made May challenge with a fail, but for some reason either my alarm did not go off or in my slumber I turned it off. I find it hard to believe I would have turned my alarm off in my sleep, since I am an extremely light sleeper and have never done anything even remotely close to that.  I’m pretty sure my Iphone failed me. I woke up at the exact time I am supposed to leave my house for work. I did not have my first outfit ironed and ready to go, so I had to forgo the plan and throw on the first wrinkle free outfit I could put together quickly. I managed to get out of my house in 20 minutes though and was not too terribly late for work!

Day 2- Sewaholic Saltspring make #2

photo 4

Day 3- Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt

photo 3

Day 4- Megan Nielsen Briar Top, not blogged

photo 2-2

I will continue to share my outfits on Instagram (@sewcharleston) and do a weekly round-up for those that don’t follow on Instagram.

 

5 comments

  1. Your whole outfit with that cute skirt is LOVELY! I love the pattern on that fabric. Happily jealous in a nice way! 🙂

  2. This skirt is lovely! I am in love with that feminine hem. I am still learning to sew, and hems are on my list for summer. Do you have any suggestions for fabric/sewing shops we should visit when we are in Charleston? Blessings! Susan

  3. Love it! It’s so floaty and ethereal. Makes me want to make one! By the way I always like seeing your photos of Charleston, I spent a few weeks there a couple of years ago and really loved it. Such a cool town.

Leave a Reply

