The Tank Dress by Sew Caroline Sewing Patterns

Yay! Sew Caroline’s 2nd pattern, the Tank Dress, is here! I’ve been anxiously waiting for her 2nd pattern release ever since I sewed up her Out and About Dress. Well…she has done it again, she has designed yet another quick, easy, comfortable, and stylish pattern!

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (11)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (13)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (7)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (17)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (20)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (23)

Sew Caroline Tank Dress Sewn by Sew Charleston (24)

This dress is the perfect dress for all of your favorite summer activities! I wore it out to dinner and a walk on the beach. I was able to comfortably run and play chase with my pup, while still looking super cute in my tank dress! How much fun would it be to sew a different tank dress for each day of your summer vacation? This dress can be made out of pretty much any fabric so each version would look so different! It’s also a super quick and easy sew, so it wouldn’t take very long to create a weeks worth of cute dresses! The dress features a shirttail hemline and can be cinched in at the waist with either elastic thread or an elastic casing. I decided to go with the elastic casing, since I have lots of dresses that I’ve used elastic thread to cinch in. Just like the Out and About Dress, my bust, waist, and hips all fell exactly into a size small. I sewed up the small with no changes and it fits great! To make hemming easier, I basted a row of stitches where I wanted to turn my hem under. This was extremely helpful in turning the curved hem under evenly all the way around.

I am so in love with the fabric I chose for my dress. It is from Leah Duncan’s new Meadow collection and is called Geos Deep Marina. I purchased it at my local fabric shop Five Eighth Seams.

The weather is finally starting to warm up, so go get your copy of the Sew Caroline Tank Dress here and start sewing your summer wardrobe!

11 comments

  1. This is so cute! I love the fabric and the fit! I would still need some help if I tried to make this dress, but I love it! I have never made clothing before and this looks like a good one to start with! Susan

Leave a Reply

