Fabric Shopping in LA

Hey Ya’ll! I’m back from California and boy am I exhausted! If you follow me on Instagram, then you know how much we did in the 4 days we were there. We did not stop! We took a red-eye back Sunday night, which meant a whole night of sleep was lost on top of already being tired from the time difference and sight-seeing. I had to go back to my normal 5:00 wake up routine for work on Tuesday.  My evenings this week were spent staying up way too late pattern testing an adorable little baby dress for my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams. They have started a new pattern company called Five Eighth Patterns! Don’t worry, I will be blogging about this pattern as soon as I can get some pictures taken. You will LOVE it! The pattern is full of so many sweet details. Check out my Instagram feed for a little sneak peak 🙂

Anyways, I thought I would share with you my LA fabric shopping experience. Fabric shopping in LA was a dream come true! I went to Michael Levine, The Fabric Store, and Mood Fabric. I really wanted to make it to Sew LA, but we only had our rental car for part of the trip and I could not get a ride out there. So sad 😦

We didn’t check any bags on our trip so I had to do some careful packing to make sure I had enough room to bring my fabric back. I even made my husband take some clothes out of his bag just in case. I told myself I could only purchase unique fabric that I could not find locally or at my favorite online sites. I went to Michael Levine first and I’ll have to admit….I was a little underwhelmed. The store had a huge selection, but there really wasn’t anything that fit my “unique” requirement. Most of what they had I can purchase elsewhere. Also, I’m not really sure why it’s called “low” price fabrics. There was nothing low about the prices there. I’m sure it’s a great place to shop if you’re not worried about stuffing all your fabric purchases into a carry-on bag, but I just couldn’t justify a spot in my suitcase for what I saw.

Next up was Mood Fabrics. I didn’t even know there was a Mood in LA until Kelly from Cut Cut Sew recommended I go there after she saw I was in LA through Instagram. Thanks for the recommendation Kelly! The fabric selection at Mood was out of this world. The fabric is literally stacked to the ceiling and navigating their selection was pretty overwhelming. Mood’s style is a little too dressy/business professional for me. I’m more of an Anthro kind of girl. Also, most of what I sew I make for work and I just really can’t wear beautiful/expensive silks when working with snot-nosed children that occasionally sneeze on me, drool on me, and touch me with who knows what on their hands. Does snot come out of silk??? Anyways, I still enjoyed seeing and more importantly touching all the different types of fabric. I ended purchasing this knit in the prettiest shade of pale green. I purchased it with the Sewaholic Renfrew, Miz Mozelle, or Lady Skater in mind.

LA fabric 018

The last stop on my LA fabric shopping tour is my favorite, The Fabric Store. This shop was first established in New Zealand and the LA location has only been open a couple of months. I absolutely loved every fabric in this shop. It was like all the fabric was selected for my own personal style. All the fabric is very high quality and the prices were surprisingly low for the quality and type of fabric. The two girls working were also very helpful and knowledgeable. I really wish they would start selling their fabrics on their site. They do ship, so if you see something you like here or on their site it is possible to get it by just calling them.

First up is this pretty floral cotton voile.

PicMonkey Collage 1

I purchased it with the Sewaholic Alma blouse in mind. I’m extremely indecisive though, so who knows what it will end up being.

PicMonkey Collage 2

That price you see is correct. The Fabric Store sells its remnants at 50% off. I got 2 yards of this awesome corduroy for $12. Crazy! I am really hoping it’s enough for a pair of Thurlows, but if not I will probably use it for a Kelly skirt. As I’m typing though, I just envisioned it as a Colette Beignet. Such decisions!

LA fabric 003

I spotted this light blue and navy eyelet and had a really hard time deciding whether to use it for a Colette Macaron or Victory Chloe. One of the girls at the shop felt it would be better fitted for the Macaron and I was easily swayed.

PicMonkey Collage 3

I am such a sucker for eyelet! It is also pretty much a southern girl’s uniform here in Charleston. I have no idea what I am making with these, but I just had to have them. I’ll probably make another Colette Laurel with the top right. The bottom was just to cheep and beautiful to pass up. I’ll probably make a simple skirt with it.

PicMonkey Collage 4

Super excited about this find! This is one of the patterns I got with my Bluegingerdoll Mae winnings. The fabric is a rayon with a really nice drape. I just love the color! It is very similar to the color of the dress on the pattern.

PicMonkey Collage 5

You all know I love my florals, but I’m also a huge fan of polka dots. I found this heavy weight polka dot and immeditaly could see it as a Deer and Doe Pavot jacket. I really hope I like this pattern, because I also recently purchased some pretty Olive green fabric to make one.

Ok, before you guys get too jealous, here is my last find….another polka dot.

LA fabric 007

I really wanted to make a By Hand London Elisalex with this fabric, but it was a little too pricey to buy 3 yards of it. I recently saw a skirt at J Crew that looks very similar to this fabric, so I bought enough to try and replicate it.

I am so excited about my fabric finds. Everything I purchased definitely fits my “unique” requirement. I’m not sure when I’ll be able to get to sewing any of it. Life is pretty buys right now with the holidays coming up. Oh well, something to look forward to for the new year. Can’t wait to share my finished projects with you!

37 comments

  1. “Does snot come out of silk??” Bahaha! So true. Everything I make and buy must be kid-proof and machine washable. I had some great luck with Mood’s knits and jerseys. Incredible quality! But I don’t know what to do with most of their fabrics. I’m in love with your eyelets and polka dots. Very appropriate for sunny Charleston. Wondering if they would pass mister when we move to Ann Arbor. Doubt it, but I don’t mind sticking out as a southern girl in the Midwest!

    • Same here! I hate wearing something and walking around be terrified that I’m going to ruin it, especially if it’s something I made! I’m excited about the knit I found from mood. The quality does feel great! I’m pretty sure I could wear eyelet, polka dot, or flowers every day and never get sick of them! I say you start a new trend up in Michigan with your eyelet 🙂

  2. Michael Levine has a separate low price fabrics store directly across the street and the fabric is sold by weight. I was quite unimpressed though because it was hard to sift through all of the fabric, most of which were in boxes.

    Mood is a lot of fun to walk through and I’ve had good luck with their jersey. But I agree their selection is overwhelming. I routinely go and walk around for at least 30 minutes and then leave empty handed because I can’t make a decision.

    I have never been to The Fabric Store and now I want to head over there immediately!! The fabric you bought all look fantastic! I can’t wait to see your finished garment. I hope you enjoyed your time in LA; it can be overwhelming but there is so much to do and see and I hope the city didn’t disappoint!

    • I stopped into the store across the street. I couldn’t handle the big boxes of mystery fabrics. I’m sure people find some great stuff though! I felt the same way about Mood….soooo overwhelming and I don’t make decisions easily. You must go to The Fabric store ASAP. It is unbelievably amazing! We really enjoyed out trip to LA! I’m still recovering from all the fun!

  3. So glad you liked the Fabric Store! The Auckland store is my local and I always walk out with something, even if I have no intention to purchase more fabric.

    • I’m in love with my eyelet finds! It’s probably going to take me awhile to use them because I’m going to be too scared to commit to a project and cut into them! I was a little surprised to find eyelet in LA. It’s not really a California girls style like it is in Charleston.

  4. Lots of good finds! I was just writing up blog posts today with fabric I purchased in San Francisco on our last vacation. In unison with this post, I want to go back really bad! I can’t wait to see these pieces come to life!

    Mae

  5. Love your new fabrics! I found a great store during my last trip to San Francisco that featured leftovers and extras from designers, etc. Small shop packed with fabrics for the body & the home.
    I’m interested in the Sewaholic Patterns. The tops look nice and I wondered if they were for stretch knits only. Do the Sewaholic run true to size? Any special recommendations?
    Love your blog!
    Renee

    • Thanks! That shop sounds great! I will have to read your post! I love sewaholic patterns! The renfrew is for knits, the others are not. Their patterns run very true to size and I’ve had really good luck with the fit. My absolute fav dress pattern is the sewaholic saltspring. I’ve made 3! Check out my blog posts about them.

  6. WOW WOW WOW! I love what you bought at that last shop! Such incredibly beautifuli fabric. I can’t wait to see what you make — I especially love that chartreuse! Or, is it that other color whose name I am forgetting……oh, Mondays!

    I am really surprised about Michael Levine. I don’t shop their online store because it doesn’t have unique or especially low prices, as you said, but I thought that maybe their physical store had a lot more to offer. Boo.

  7. I did not know about The Fabric Store! I think I’m going to have to pop in there soon before I move out of LA in a month! Merino wools sound heavenly for moving up to Eastern Canada. So much snow, so much cold. But Merino will make it better!

  8. Wow, you scored some amazing fabrics! The fabric store sounds soo good, I would love to get my hands on some of their Merino wool..

  9. I kind of agree with your comments on Michael Levine, although I’ve bought some things I’m happy with there. Your Fabric Store purchases, however, are amazing. I will definitely try that spot next time. I’m excited to see your Pavot and Macaron!

  10. So glad you told your readers about the Fabric Store – I am off to LA in early January with limited shopping time. Of course, it will all be fabric shopping! I will have to go to this store, their website is so nice. What great fabric finds – I can’t wait to see your finished projects.

    • Laave yourself LOTS of time for the fabric store. I wanted all the fabrics so it took me forever to make a decision and not buy the whole store. Can’t wait to see what you find! Enjoy your trip!

  11. AMAZING fabrics – I’m particularly envious of that incredible rayon you got for the Midsummer Night dress – it’s such a gorgeous colour, and so hard to find!! 🙂 Some beautiful voile and eyelets there too – your fabric stash is definitely elevated in status now!! Congrats! 🙂

  12. Wonderful summary of your fabric shopping trip! Thanks for putting it together, I will for sure use it as inspiration should go to L.A. Made me want to go to immediately…

Leave a Reply

