Megan Nielsen Banskia Top

Megan Nielsen Banskia Top 001

The Banskia top is the 3rd Megan Nielsen pattern I’ve tried (not counting the Darling Ranges dress that is currently in my scrap box). I have made a few Briar tops (not blogged) and a Kelly Skirt. Her patterns are great to sew. The directions are clearly written and she gives really great tips with lots of variation ideas. Her patterns are also great, because they are wardrobe staples that you can make again and again with slight variations here and there.

Megan Nielsen Banskia Top 003

I was attracted to the Banskia by the peter pan collar and the button placket detail. I love how they turned out! I put off trying this pattern for awhile, because I was scared of these 2 details. The peter pan collar was cake, but the button placket was a little tricky. Megan provides two options for the button placket, one version slightly easier than the other. I of course chose the easier version, since I had never sewn a button placket before. After upicking it a couple of times I am now happy with the final result. This is definitely one of those details that you just get better at with practice. The collar is finished around the neck with self-made bias that I chose to sew down invisibly by hand. I just didn’t like the thought of having stitching on my pretty peter pan collar that I spent so long perfecting!

Megan Nielsen Banskia Top 004

I added length to my sleeves to make them 3/4 length. They ended up being pretty full, so I decided to add an elastic casing. At this point, I was also very much done with this top and couldn’t fathom doing anything more than an elastic casing. I do like how they ended up though!

Megan Nielsen Banskia Top 005

I cut an XS for the shoulders and bust, graded out to a small at the waist, and a medium for the length. I am really happy with the length and fit of this top!

Megan Nielsen Banskia Top 002

I chose 100% cotton lawn for the fabric. I’m pretty sure it’s by Robert Kaufman, but I can’t find it anywhere online.

photo-16

My Banskia made its debut at 2nd Sunday on King Street. It easy and comfortable to wear. It’s the perfect top for the fall, but will also be great for early spring weather in Charleston.

I will definitely be making another Banskia. Maybe out of some Robert Kaufman chambray that I have in my stash???

13 comments

  1. Hola!
    Te he descubiero hace poquito y me encanta todo lo que coses!!.
    Tu estilo y la elección de telas me gustan un monton!!.
    Esta blusa te ha quedado genial!!.
    Que la disfrutes!!.
    Besitos

  2. This is so cute! I love the lawn you used, and it’s perfect for cooler weather with the longer sleeves. Really nice work! If you don’t want to stitch the bias binding by hand next time, you can topstitch it down from the right side, but with the collar flipped up out of the way (so you’re only sewing through the binding and the bodice, not the collar). I love the sound of a chambray version– that would be so cute!

Leave a Reply

