Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

I made this dress last fall, not too long after I first started sewing. I’m pretty sure it was the third pattern I tried. Surprisingly, unlike most of my first few sewing projects, I still love this dress!

The pattern is the School House Tunic, by Sew Liberated. This rayon fabric by Amy Butler is one of my favorites. It is called Twilight Peony Rayon in Saffron. It’s currently on sale at Hawthorne Threads.  I purchased my fabric and pattern from Five Eighth Seams. Worn with a pair of boots this is the perfect casual fall outfit, especially since this fabric is all the colors of fall. It’s super comfy and the fabric is so soft. It’s one of those go-to outfits that I can just throw on and head out the door without a lot of thought.

sew liberated schoolhouse tunic (1)

sew liberated schoolhouse tunic (3)

sew liberated schoolhouse tunic (5)

sew liberated schoolhouse tunic (7)

This pattern runs really big, so I would suggest making it off your bust size. There are no closures and it’s not meant to fit real tight. I’m only 5’4 so I am able to wear mine as a dress. If you are taller than me and want yours to be a dress, I would definitely recommend lengthening it. I turned the hem under a total of a ½ inch and it really needs to be a little longer to comfortably wear it to work. It also looks super cute with a pair of leggings!

24 comments

  1. Hi Abbey! I just made my first schoolhouse tunic and wore it on a cruise to Bermuda just this month. I also wore it as a dress with sandals as I am only 5′ 1″. Mine was a turquoise cotton print. It is the first item of clothing made for myself. I love the print on yours. I’ve never worked with rayon, but you’ve inspired me to give it a try. Is your material machine washable or dryer safe?

    • Congrats on making your first garment! Rayon is pretty easy to see with, maybe a few more pins and a little more care when cutting. It’s my fav fabric to sew and wear. It is machine washable and dryer safe; however, I wash all my handmade items on delicate and hang them to dry.

    • Thanks! Ooooo…I saw where she has patterns now. I really want to try one of them! Everyone always raves about her children’s patterns. Can’t wait to see how your tunic turns out!

      • I’ve made the little girl’s shirtdress which was delightful. Now the ladies tunic – and also the Lisette Itinerary dress (would look great on you) and her instructions are brilliant. So good that you learn lots of things along the way as she explains why you do things.

  2. I just bought that pattern at Five Eighth Seams! Thanks for the suggestion to go there. Love how it looks as a dress and I can’t wait to try the pattern out.

  3. This fabric lends itself to wearing with boots. I just finished the Date Night dress in the same fabric over the weekend. I definitely think it works well with our fail SC weather!

Leave a Reply

