Deer and Doe Sureau Dress

Deer and Doe Sureau (14)

First the Chardon, then the Belladone, and now the Sureau. I am in love with Deer and Doe patterns! The Sureau is a beginner pattern. It was easy to fit and quick to sew. This dress has front and back bodice darts, a gathered skirt, and side seam zipper.

Deer and Doe Sureau (5)

I love this mock button placket. The only thing slightly tricky about the pattern was getting the gathers distributed evenly around the placket. Really it was more “tedious” than “tricky”. I would love to find some yellow or coral buttons for this dress!

Deer and Doe Sureau (16)

Deer and Doe Sureau (7)

Deer and Doe Sureau (8)

I cut a 36 for the bodice and graded out to a 40 at the waist and hips. I did the same for my Belladone. I made no other changes to the pattern and the fit is perfect!

I’m considering making the sleeves smaller. Right now they are a little roomy, but this also makes them more comfortable and less restrictive. I almost decided to leave the dress sleeveless, that way I could wear it in the summer too and just add a cardigan for the fall. Since I had already cut them out I decided just to sew them on. It looks super cute sleeveless too, so I will definitely be making a sleeveless version of the Sureau!

The fabric is from Leah Duncan’s Tulle collection for Art Gallery Fabrics. I am soooo in love with all the prints in this collection. This particular print is called Meadow Vale in Dark. I used Quietude in Dusk for my Belladone. I also have some Mojave in Opaque waiting to be made into a skirt. I really just want to buy the whole collection! My local fabric shop, 5/8th Seams, carries the entire collection of pretty prints. You can also find it at Hawthorne Threads. Have you sewn with Art Gallery Fabrics yet? Their fabric is a dream to sew. The fabric is so soft and has a slight sheen. It presses beautifully and I swear it doesn’t wrinkle as much as other quilting weight cottons.

Deer and Doe patterns is and indie pattern company located in France. If you haven’t tried one of their patterns yet, I highly recommend  you give one (or 3) a try!

18 comments

    • Thanks Renee! I was a little worried this fabric was going to be too busy for this dress, but I’m happy with how it turned out. The cooler months are going to be tough for me. I won’t be able to choose fabric with bold floral prints like I’m usually drawn to!

  1. This is gorgeous and you’re an amazing seamstress. Did you have to make linings for the dresses and the skirts from these patterns?

Leave a Reply

