A Date Night Dress For The Fall

I am so in love with my second Date Night Dress. I made this one not too long after my first one. I was waiting until the fall to share it with you, since I felt like the darker colors were a little more “fallish”. This fabric is by Anna Maria Horner. It is called Sinister Swarm in Lurk purchased at Hawthorne Threads. AMH’s rayon is so soft against your skin and has the perfect amount of drape for this dress. Caroline, over at SewCaroline, recently posted her second version of this dress. She had the genius idea of adding shirring to the back of the dress to cinch it in at the waist. I went back and added 5 rows of shirring to the back of my dress. I love how it looks! Thanks for the idea Caroline!

Date Night Dress in AMH Rayon (3)

Date Night Dress in AMH Rayon (9)

Date Night Dress in AMH Rayon (8)

Date Night Dress in AMH Rayon (7)

Date Night Dress in AMH Rayon (1)

I’m going to put some boots on with this dress once the temperature drops a few more degrees. Then it will definitely be the perfect early fall outfit!

The Date Night Dress is a PDF pattern that can be purchased at April Rhodes’ website. This is her second pattern, followed by the extremely popular Staple Dress. I’ve made 6 staple dresses! Both are great beginner projects with easy to follow directions.

19 comments

  1. You did a great job! Great idea about the shirring. I’ll have to that for my Staple Dress when I sew it. The seaming on your sleeve looks impeccable. I was bemoaning my lousy stitching skills while finishing a longall for my little one last night. I excuse sloppiness in RTW garments, but I think handmade needs to be a higher caliber! (Which my husband thinks is silly.) I need to practice–or sew more garments!

Leave a Reply

