Ikat Colette Iris Shorts

Ikat Colette Iris (11)

After I finished my Field Study Colette Iris Shorts, I knew I would be sewing up another pair in the near future. I searched around for the perfect print for my second pair and found this Amy Butler home decor sateen fabric. It’s called Kasbah in Emerald. I purchased it from Hawthorne Threads. They don’t have it available on their website right now, but I found it at Jimmy Beans Wool and it’s currently on sale. This fabric is the perfect weight for shorts. It has a nice sheen to it and barely wrinkles.

Ikat Colette Iris (5)

I love this fabric paired with this chambray shirt. For this pair, I cut a straight 4 and made no alterations. I very very very carefully cut out each piece so the pattern would match at the seams. The downfall of using home decor fabric is most of them have very large prints. I really had to think about where to place each pattern piece on the fabric so the ikat design wouldn’t get all chopped up.

Ikat Colette Iris (10)

My careful work paid off! The design matches perfectly!

Ikat Colette Iris (1)

If you haven’t already figured out from all the pictures….I wore this outfit out for an evening walk and a trip to the dog park with Piper. I love how this outfit is not too dressy for the dog park, but nice enough for walking around downtown!

17 comments

  1. These shorts! Oh my gosh I am in love. The length is just perfect and they look super comfy too. I love that you used home decor fabric too! I’m always slightly intimidated to do that but this makes me want to do it some more. Your hard work definitely paid off with the print matching by the way because they are perfect! Seriously the side seams don’t even look as if they have seams at all. I’m impressed, I should have had you cut out my last dress that I’m working on now.. haha because it’s striped and the side seams most definitely do not look like that!

  2. These are cute and Piper is a doll! My first attempt at the Iris pattern is sadly in my UFO pile but your version makes me want to try again. Even though it is technically fall, I still have some time before the Upstate area of South Carolina will be too cold for shorts. In fact’ I have been to many Carolina games in October still wearing shorts or sundresses. After seeing all of your wonderful Saltspring makes, I’m tempted to stitch a few up even this late!

  3. Those shorts are adorable! Once again, nice pairing of pattern to fabric – you have a real gift for that. I wish it was still warm enough in Minnesota to wear shorts and walk around! Lucky you!

  4. Hi Abbey!

    Big fan of all your sewing creations. Do you have a contact e-mail where one could inquire about collaborations, sponsorship, or projects? Or better yet, feel free to e-mail me directly.

    Thanks so much!
    Lorena

  5. We have such similar tastes! I have been eyeing these Iris shorts off but after making a Grainline Arher I decided to get the Maritime shorts instead… Heavens I have a billion things to make!
    Really love your fabric choice!

  6. A google of the Iris shorts led me here and I just have to comment on your fabulous creations! Such great styles and use of colour.
    Needless to say, fabric for the Iris shorts has been purchased!

Leave a Reply

