Trailing Roses…My Colette Laurel/Peony Dress

I have been waiting and waiting for the weather to cool down here in Charleston so I could make another Laurel. Well, it still hasn’t cooled down quite enough, but after seeing the beautiful one SewCaroline just made, I just couldn’t wait any longer.

Colette Laurel (2)

I used this beautiful quilting weight cotton by Anna Maria Horner. It’s called, Social Climber in Gold, purchased from Hawthorne Threads. I LOVE this fabric! I am working on a Mae top right now out of the Social Climber in Teal. I also really want a skirt out of this fabric, but that might be a little too obsessed! Knowing me, I’ll probably make one anyways 🙂

A lot of bloggers have mentioned that their Laurel was too short. I’m only 5’4 so the length for me is perfect. If you are taller you might want to consider lengthening it.

Colette Laurel

When I first saw these sleeves, I wasn’t too sure if I liked them. Then, I saw Erin from Sewbon and Caroline from Sew Caroline sporting them and the sleeves suddenly became cute. Funny how that works! I’m glad I gave them a try, because I really do like them.

Colette Laurel 3

Were you wondering why I titled this post Laurel/Peony? Notice anything different about the neckline? It’s the Colette Peony neckline! I had nightmare of a time fitting my Peony (which seems to be a common theme). It fits now, but it still has its issues. My favorite detail from the peony pattern was the neckline, so why not put it on another dress that fits me better. This was super easy to do and I am so happy with the result. I remembered my neckline being too high on my first Peony, so I went ahead and cut the front neckline down on this one about a ½ inch. It could still be a tad lower. Like my first Laurel, I also finished this one with a neckline facing instead of the bias tape.

For my first Laurel, I cut a 0 in the bust and sleeves and graded out to the 4 for the waist and hips. The dress is too big for my liking. For this one I cut the pattern pieces down to a 0. It fits a whole lot better!

I can’t wait to wear this dress with some brown boots for the fall! I already have my fabric picked out for my 3rd Laurel. I just need to decide how I can make this one a little different from my 1st and 2nd one. Any ideas?

31 comments

  1. Wow – stunning! I love love love that dress! I know what you mean when you see someone make a pattern and it changes your mind about what you think about it. 99% of the time I love the pattern after seeing someone make it. Same thing with the Laurel, I didn’t think I would want to make this dress, but I do now, especially after this version.

    • Thanks Kat! I started blogging my creations for exactly the things you mentioned. Every time I’m planning a project to sew I search google images to see what people have made with the pattern. Since I was getting so many great ideas from everyone else I figured I needed to contribute too!

  2. Oh, love this! Such a cute pattern – love the way you’ve changed the neckline, too. This reminds me of the LP Cassie dress and that similar with the ruffled edge sleeves! (Sorry, can’t remember the name of that style – I’ll check my dresses later. I have two and love them!). Great dresses for running around town in!

    I’m putting this one on my list. Thanks for the great ideas!

  3. Another beautiful dress! I bought the Laurel pattern a while ago but I still haven’t finished assembling the PDF. I love the fabric you chose and I loved Sew Caroline’s fabric when I saw her post, too. I will have to get busy on that PDF and making my muslin! I can’t wait to see your Mae top– I haven’t seen that one anywhere yet.

    • Thanks! I purchased the PDF version too. I’m not sure I will do that again. It took so long to put it together! I didn’t bother with a muslin for this dress. It was pretty easy to fit. My Mae top is looking awesome! I only have the buttonholes left, so I will be posting it soon!

    • The quilting weight cotton feels ok. It would be better out of a rayon or voile like the pattern recommends. I questioned making it out of a quilting weight cotton, but after I saw Caroline’s version I decided to give it a try. I’m happy with the results and I’m going to make another one out of the same type of fabric.

  4. Saw this in the Colette Flickr group and I just had to pop over and gush over its beauty. I would rush out and buy the same fabric but I look like death in yellow. I used Amy Butler’s Wild Poppies for my Laurel and I liked using the quilting cotton. Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

