How to make the armholes on the Colette Laurel bigger

I am blanking on the sewing word for “armhole” right now. Oh well, I’m not that technical anyways! I’ve had a few requests to share how I widened the armholes on my Colette Laurel. So here we go……

First fix…..

I cut a 0 for my Laurel. See the pink arrows? Go ahead and trim the armhole down to a bigger size. I trimmed down to the 4. I could probably even go more.

How to widen the armholes on the Colette Laurel 001

Second and last fix….I told you this was easy!

See the pink highlighter? I added a 1/2 where the star is. Take a sheet of paper, bring it out from the pattern a 1/2 inch.

How to widen the armholes on the Colette Laurel 002

Slide the paper in until it meets the end of the sleeve and is back in line with the original pattern.

How to widen the armholes on the Colette Laurel 003

Do this on both sides and tape down. You can add more than 1/2 if you need it!

How to widen the armholes on the Colette Laurel 004

Does this make sense? I hope so!

Please let me know if you have any questions! I hope this helps!

I have some fabric on the way to make another Laurel! Can’t wait!

13 comments

  1. Thanks so much for posting this! This weekend I made a Laurel related project (will blog about it soon on moramora.weebly.com) and enlarged the armholes 1cm on each side, similar to what you did. I didn’t enlarge the sleeves, because I couldn’t get them in right without puckers, and now it definitely went better. Btw could the word for armhole be armscye? I’m also still learning the English sewing lingo;))

    • You are welcome! I will have to check out your Beignet post. I have a Colette meringue cut out right now and then I think the Beignet will be next! Do you think a quilting weight cotton would be an ok fabric for it?

      Thanks! Are you planning on making a Saltspring? I highly recommend it!

  2. I had to do this on mine too, glad I’m not alone…. I would also add that if you’re underlining your dress or top, it’s a good idea to make the adjustment even bigger; you wouldn’t think a little layer of fabric would make that much difference but it totally does!

Leave a Reply

