Colette Iris Shorts in Anna Maria Horner’s Field Study Linen

Colette Iris Shorts in Anna Maria Horner's Field Study Linen 008

The Iris shorts are my second favorite Colette Pattern so far, beat only by the Ginger skirt. I love the fit and style of my Grainline Studio Maritime shorts, but they are not the quickest shorts for me to make. That’s what I love so much about the Iris. I can put them together in about 3 hours!

Colette Iris Shorts in Anna Maria Horner's Field Study Linen 009

I read quite a few reviews before cutting out my pattern. Shorts are definitely not as flexible in fit, so I didn’t want to cut the wrong size. Most bloggers said the pattern ran small and sat a little too high on the waist, so I went a size up and cut the 6. They ended up being too big. I was able to easily take them in at the sides to fit. I don’t feel like the waist is too high either. I loooove the fit!

Colette Iris Shorts in Anna Maria Horner's Field Study Linen 010

I pulled the pocket out so you could see the pretty teal pocket fabric. It matches my zipper and the feathers perfectly! I love a perfect match! I really like the style of these pockets; however, they are not very functional. I don’t like how if I put my cell phone in the pocket (which I do a lot of rather than carrying a purse) it’s basically sitting on your front thigh. It just looks kinda funny. The pockets are still super cute though.

The fabric is from Anna Maria Horner’s Field Study Linen collection and is called Parenthetical in Berry. I bought the pattern and fabricย  locally at Five Eighth Seams.

Colette Iris Shorts in Anna Maria Horner's Field Study Linen

I wore my shorts to the Charleston Farmer’s Market this morning. It was the perfect outfit for a warm summer morning spent outdoors. We stopped and got doughnuts at Glazed on the way. If you ever visit here, you must make sure to stop here….if you live here and haven’t tried them, GO! Best doughnuts in Charleston, well probably in the whole state of South Carolina!

17 comments

    • Thanks! Ooooooh… I love the cream too. Honestly, I would love to make a pair of these out of all 3 of the colors it comes in, but that might be a little too obnoxious. I just love that fabric, especially for shorts!

  1. Cute shorts! I love the pop of blue in the pockets – really unexpected but pretty. I haven’t tried this Colette pattern yet, but I think I really should investigate…

Leave a Reply

