Colette Laurel In White Eyelet

My Colette Laurel in scalloped white eyelet is the perfect Southern dress for a Charleston Sunday brunch.

Colette Laurel in White Eyelet

When this dress first came out, I knew right away I wanted to make it out of scalloped eyelet. I searched everywhere for the perfect eyelet and finally found it here. Luckily, the scallops are on both sides, so I only needed a 1 1/2 to make the dress. This fabric was a little pricey, so lucky me!

Colette Laurel in White Eyelet 2

I cut a size 0 for the upper bodice and sleeves and graded out to a 4 for the waist and hips. It’s too big for my liking, so next time I will cut a straight 0. The armholes on this dress were also way to tight for my liking. This was an easy fix. Leave me a comment if you need help figuring out how to do it!

Colette Laurel in White Eyelet 3

I also decided to do a neck facing instead of the bias tape. What do you think…with or without the belt?

The Colette Laurel is an easy sew. I think it would look good in just about any fabric! I can’t wait to make another one! Maybe out of this beautiful fabric from Anna Maria Horner at Hawthorne Threads.

anna_maria_horner_hand_drawn_garden_social_climber_in_gold

18 comments

  1. Wow, I love it! This version is definitely on my to sew list. I’m still finding out what ‘eyelet’ is in Dutch, I can’t find this type of fabric anywhere. I suppose they call it lace here in the Netherlands, hmpff, which is of course totally different and I have to plunge through a lot of wrong search results on online webshops…
    I also had trouble with the tiny armholes (and putting in the sleeves right), and am very curious how you fixed this!

    Anne

    • Thanks Anne! Good luck finding your eyelet! I’ve seen it referred to as cotton lace before, so maybe try that. I will take some pictures of my altered pattern this weekend and share! It was super easy!

      • That would be great! I asked my mom (a very experienced seamstress) what another word for the fabric is in Dutch, she thought it was also called ‘broderie’ or ‘broderie anglaise’ and I think she’s right! I’ll keep it in mind for next spring/summer. I’m now preparing for a Laurel in beautiful black stretch cotton for winter…

  2. Beautiful! One of the things at the top of my to do list after I retire this December is learn to sew a dress. I like the Collette patterns that I’ve seen ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

