Polka Dot Colette Ginger

Polka Dot Colette Ginger

I love all things Colette and the Ginger Skirt is one of my favorites. This Colette Ginger Skirt was the first skirt pattern I sewed and only my second sewing pattern, the Colette Hazel being my first. It’s hard to believe it’s been a whole year since I made this skirt! I still love it just as much as when I first made it. Which means a lot, because I now consider some of those first projects “unwearable”.

Polka Dot Colette Ginger 4

I think my love for this skirt has a lot to do with the polka dots. I LOVE all things polka dots! This sunny citron yellow just makes me smile. The fabric is by Michael Miller and called dumb dot in citron. You can find it here  at Five Eighth Seams.

Polka Dot Colette Ginger 5

I think the Colette Ginger is one of the more figure flattering skirts I’ve come across. It’s quick and easy for beginners. You should definitely give it a try, you can purchase it here.

Polka Dot Colette Ginger 6

We are enjoying a walk around historic downtown Charleston on an unseasonably cool day. This is one of our favorite things to do. Piper loves sticking her snout through all the wrought iron gates. I’m pretty sure we live in the most beautiful cities in the United States!

Polka Dot Colette Ginger 7

“A House Is Not A Home Without A Dog”. I couldn’t agree more!

5 comments

  1. Hi Abbey! Your skirt looks great! I just happened upon your blog while looking at some fabric on the hawthorne thread website. I’m so glad I found you! I was looking at some rayon challis trying to decide whether to try it out on the Colette Laurel. After looking at your dresses I’m going for it! I’ve never sewn with rayon challis before and was warned it might be a bit tricky, but the look is great! Thanks for sharing your projects, it’s really helped me decide on a few patterns I was thinking of trying.

    🙂 Carrie Simpson

    • Thanks Carrie! Don’t you love Hawthorne Threads??? They have way too much fabric to choose from! Rayon challis is my favorite. It’s not hard at all to sew with. Don’t be scared! It’s a little more slippery, so just take your time cutting out your fabric. You may need to use a few more pins. Other than that…piece of cake! Glad I could help you decide on some pattens to sew. I just posted about the Colette Laurel. You will love it!

Leave a Reply

