Sew Caroline’s DIY Circle Skirt

One of the reasons I decided to start my own sewing blog is because I enjoy seeing what all you fellow seamstresses are making. I love to read about what patterns you like and don’t like and I learn from your successes and failures (we all have a few of those).  So much of my inspiration comes from you! One of the blogs I find most of my inspiration from is Sew Caroline. I LOVE  her style and everything she makes is so fashion forward. This week she posted a DIY circle skirt sewalong. She created the tutorial herself and provides you with step by step directions to draft your own pattern using your measurements.

Her circle skirt came out so cute that I decided to “sewalong”.

Sew Caroline DIY Circle Skirt 002

I love how it turned out!

Sew Caroline DIY Circle Skirt 003

On a “whim” I tried this hot pink leather belt with it. Glad I did!

Sew Caroline DIY Circle Skirt 005

I found this fabric at JoAnn’s. It feels like charmeuse. I had it in my stash for awhile, because I figured it would be hard to sew with. It wasn’t hard at all! I did have to decrease my tension and increase my stitch length, because the fabric was wanting to gather.

Sew Caroline DIY Circle Skirt 004

I love when you just happen to have all the right pieces in your wardrobe to go with something you just made. I think this is a pretty awesome outfit.

Sew Caroline DIY Circle Skirt 006

Look at the cute pup in the picture. She was enjoying hanging out on her dog bed on this Saturday morning.

Caroline is doing a circle skirt link up so head on over to Sew Caroline to get your circle skirt inspiration. I’m headed to go make another one! Chambray or floral voile? Such decisions!

9 comments

  1. Found your blog through Sew Caroline and I’m so impressed with what you’ve made! There are several patterns I want to purchase after looking at your garments. Your Staple Dresses are some of the cutest I’ve seen! Quick question, any particular reason why you only sew indie patterns? And what machine do you use?

    • Thanks Sarah Jo!!! Have you made a staple dress yet? I love sewing indie patterns for a few reasons: 1. The directions are much more thorough and usually include lots of tips and ideas. I hate when I can’t figure out the directions in some of those “big name” pattern companies. I rarely run into this issue with indie patterns. Often times, you can go onto the pattern makers blog and there will be even more step by step directions with real pictures!, 2. They don’t include a ridiculous amount of ease, making the fitting process much easier., 3. A lot of sewers that use indie patterns blog about their projects. I like seeing pictures of their finished project, reading about how the garment fits, problems they encountered, what they would do differently, etc., and 4. I like supporting small businesses! I use a Project Runway Brother. Let me know if you want the model number.

      • I haven’t made the Staple dress but it’s on my list now! (I have an infant so nursing has kept me from dresses this summer. Next summer though!) Your thoughts about Indie patterns make total sense. I have been frustrated with the Big 4 patterns, thinking that choosing sizes according to the finished measurements would eliminate fit issues. I was wrong! I rely heavily on bloggers and PatternReview.com for choosing sewing projects. Your clothes are so great and your reviews make them seem so accessible. We’ll be at Kiawah soon, so I’ll have to check out Five Eights Seams while I’m there.

        Speaking of helpful bloggers, you’ll have to share how you hand-sew bias tape. 😉

      • I have! Thought that might be how you did it but wondered if it would hold up to the stress of an armhole. I’m going to try it out on my next project that uses bias tape. But up first–a Briar top!

      • It seems to hold up just fine! You sew the bias just how you normally would, but instead of the final stitching that is visible on the outside you sew it like you would your invisible hem. I do secure it with some extra stitches at the shoulder seam and underarm seam. Hand sewing is much more enjoyable in front of your favorite tv show 🙂 Let me know how it goes and please share your finished briar!

  2. Hi Abbey! Love love LOVE the skirt you made! I have thoroughly enjoyed looking through your blog.. you are SO talented, my friend! Keep it up!! I read your comment above and 100% agree with you on sewing with Indie patterns!! Your reasons are my exact ones, too 😉
    Have a happy Monday!!!
    xoxoxo,
    Caroline

    • Thanks Caroline! I am working on my 2nd one…with a bit of a “twist” to it. I’ll post it as soon as I finish. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog! Yours is my fav! Indie patterns rock :). Hope your Monday was great!

Leave a Reply

