April Rhodes Date Night Dress

Image

If you haven’t figured it out from my previous blog posts….I’m pretty obsessed with April Rhodes’ Staple Dress. I was thrilled when I heard she was coming out with a new pattern. I bought the new pattern, Date Night Dress, within minutes of it’s release and sewed it up that night.

Image

It is constructed very similarly as the staple dress, except for the angel flutter sleeves. I think these sleeve dress it up a bit. The sleeves take a little longer, but are well worth it!

Image

You could add elastic shirring to the waist if you like. I would rather just belt it.

Image

The sleeves are so beautiful and very different from anything else I own. I used cotton voile for this dress. Besides rayon challis, this is my favorite type of fabric to make garments with. This fabric is called Pristine Poppies by Joel Dewberry. I purchased it from Hawthorne Threads.

Image

You can’t really tell in this picture, but the dress has a slightly longer hem in the back. I love this detail!

This dress was so easy to sew and fit. I made the XS. After reading Olivia Jane Handcrafted’s blog post on her date night dress, I decided to shorten the hem by an inch.Β http://oliviajanehandcrafted.com/blog/?p=3975 I used the shorten/lengthen line to take out an inch. I didn’t make any other changes to the pattern.

I love this dress so much that I’ve already made another one. I’ll post it soon!

11 comments

  1. Thanks!!! I still like the staple dress better. I feel like I can get more wear out of it, making it exactly what the title says…a “staple” dress. I just posted about my 6th staple dress! Which one do you like better?

  2. Oh my! I am so inspired by all your fabric choices! I have had such a hard time finding what I wanted and I don’t have a great local shop with quality or name brand fabrics…… Your choices are EXACTLY what I have been looking for πŸ™‚ I’m new to sewing clothes for myself (always just children’s clothing). So glad I found your site and just dropped a small fortune at Hawthorne Threads all thanks to your lovely links πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Picking out fabric is by my favorite part of the sewing process! I’m addicted to fabric! Love, love, love Hawthorne Threads. I should probably own a share in their company at this point πŸ™‚ Enjoy your new fabric!

  3. Hi, I found your blog through the Hawthorne Threads site as it linked it via this fabric. I’m planning on making a dress with this voile and it seems a little see through. Did you line or underline your dress? Do you find that it’s a little see through? I”m trying to see if I should underline or line the dress. Thanks for your help!

    • It is very see through. I wear a nude slip under mine for now, but I’m planning on make a slip in turquoise using the slip pattern that comes with the dress. The underarms are low so you can see what you have on underneath peeking out, so either way you need to wear something pretty under it. I wouldn’t underline it if you are doing the hi-lo hem, because you will see the underlining fabric a bit. For the other date night dress I made with a fabric that is not see through, I just wear a pretty tank top underneath. Hope that helps!

      • Thanks for the reply! I’ll plan on doing a different dress and will most likely just line since the recipient will not wear a slip. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the notes on Date Night dress, too! It’s a cute pattern and is on my wish list.

Leave a Reply

