Mathilde Blouse by Tilly and the Buttons

After making my Miette skirt from Tilly and the Button (https://sewcharleston.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/miette-skirt-from-tilly-and-the-buttons/) I just had to try her Mathilde Blouse.

Image

It’s just as awesome, in a whole different kind of way, as the skirt!

Image

I had left over fabric from my butterfly Miette so I decided to use the rest of it for the blouse. The fact that I had neon yellow pants that matched it also swayed my decision to use this fabric. 🙂 This fabric is called Queen Anns Butterflies in Topaz by Amy Butler.

This was my first experience with tucks. They weren’t as tricky as I thought they would be, but I need some practice! I will definitely get some practice in, because I already purchased fabric to make another one.

Image

I absolutely love the buttons down the back! I made fabric covered buttons. I have been seeing lots of tops with this detail down the back while shopping. Since I used a quilting weight cotton, I left the sleeves off. I made bias out of the same fabric and sewed it down invisibly by hand.

You can purchase the Mathilde pattern here http://www.tillyandthebuttons.com/p/how-to-make-mathilde-blouse.html

and the fabric here http://www.hawthornethreads.com/fabric/designer/amy_butler/alchemy/queen_anns_butterflies_in_topaz

4 comments

Leave a Reply

