Sewaholic Saltspring Dress

Image

Let me just start with…I think this might be my favorite dress I’ve made so far!

Image

There are so many details that I just love about it. The lining is intentionally shorter than the shell so when sewn together it creates this beautiful blousing effect.

Image

I really like the lower neckline in the back. How cute are those ties? There is supposed to be a back zipper in this dress, but after reading some blog posts by sewers that left out the zipper…I decided to give it a try. I mean who wants to put in a zipper if they don’t have to? For me, the dress goes on easily without the zipper. The elastic waistline cinches the waist in nicely. Tasia provides a tutorial on her blog for how to leave the zipper out. http://sewaholic.net/saltspring-dress-no-zipper-no-blousing/  She mentions in the post that she felt like it was hard to get on without the zipper. So whether you need a zipper or not might depend on your build.

Image

I love how “flowy” the skirt is. You really need to use a fabric with a good drape for this dress. I used rayon challis fabric called Specimen in Brazil by Anna Maria Horner. I purchased this fabric here http://www.hawthornethreads.com/fabric/designer/anna_maria_horner/field_study_rayon_challis/specimen_in_brazil

Image

I cut a size 4 for the bust and slowly graded out to the 6 for the waist and hips. The dress fits perfect! The easy fit of this dress makes it a great project for beginners. There is also a sewalong on sewaholic that gives more in depth details.

Image

This dress also looks great with a cardigan to extend its wear into the fall.

17 comments

  1. I recently started following your blog and love your pattern and fabric choices. I loved this saltspring dress that you made that I was inspired to go out and buy the pattern and fabric!! Did you follow Tasia’s tutorial on how to leave the zipper out or did you do your own version? Thank you!

    • Thanks! This is my favorite dress I’ve ever made! I followed her tutorial, but I still did the blousing. Leaving the zipper out makes this dress so easy to sew. Mine goes on easily, so I definitely do not need the zipper. Let me know if you have any other questions! Enjoy sewing your saltspring!

Leave a Reply

