Make It Pefect Pattern Parade + Giveaway!

MIP Pattern Parade Button

I’m back from a great vacation in Maine and finally getting to share my Coastal Breeze dress as part of the Make It Perfect Pattern Parade. I made sure I had this project completed before my vacation, therefore I’ve had this dress made and have been waiting for my turn to blog it for weeks now! I don’t like wearing my handmade cl0thing until I can get pictures taken. I guess I’m afraid I’ll do something to ruin it and then I won’t be able to share my finished project. Well obviously my pictures are taken, so I finally get to wear my Coastal Breeze dress!

Coastal Breeze 6

 

Coastal Breeze 1
Coastal Breeze 4
Coastal Breeze 5
¬†This dress is so comfy and perfect for the warm weather. The Coastal Breeze dress is also a “breeze” to sew up! I’ve heard lots of great things about Make It Perfect Patterns, but had yet to try one for myself. Make It Perfect offers both PDF and paper patterns for women and children. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to give one of their patterns a try! I’ve seen lots of lovely versions of the Shearwater Kaftan and almost chose it, but decided I better choose something I won’t roast in in the Charleston summer heat. This dress pattern has some sweet little details. The skirt is pleated, which I love! The bottom of the bodice is gathered, which is nice for the summer weather because it makes the dress not so “clingy”. I’m also a huge fan of the scoop neckline. Cut Cut Sew had the fabulous idea of lengthening hers to a maxi! My beautiful mint knit fabric is from Girl Charlee. The fabric for the waistband is leftover from my lady skater dress and happened to have the same exact mint color in it. I love how the waistband allows you to add a little visual interest to the dress!
Want to try out a Make It Perfect pattern? Enter the rafflecopter giveaway below to win a PDF pattern of your choice! The giveaway will end August 1st at 12:00 Am eastern standard time.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Make It Perfect Pattern Parade Virtual Catwalk introduces…
You can also see a roundup over at the Make It Perfect blog!
41 thoughts on “Make It Pefect Pattern Parade + Giveaway!

  1. I’d probably choose the same dress as you have there. I really love it as a maxi as well. If not, I have liked what I’ve seem of the kaftan.

  2. Do love the Coastal Breeze dress – though those Essential shorts are pretty tempting! I can see them made with linen and lengthened into trousers!!

  3. Your dress is super cute on you as is everything else you make. I think I would pick Coastal Breeze or Sweet Dreams. Thanks!

  4. Decisions, decisions. It is hard to think about these beautiful summer patterns in the middle of winter! It is lovely seeing all the different interpretations of the costal breeze- might be worth a crack.

  5. Have wanted to make the shearwater kaftan for months. Think it would be great for summer in a voile. Love the dress and looks so cool for the summer weather we are having.

  6. Love following your blog and looking at your pretty creations since the garments you like to make are very similar to my taste. Due to that, I would love to know what type of machine you use and why? I am in the process of looking at getting a new machine and with the fact that you just completed your first swimsuit and also sew knits, I was curious, as I would like to try and start sewing with those fabrics! Thx!

    • Thanks! My first machine was a Project Runway Brother from Wal-Mart. It was a great first machine and if I wasn’t sewing as much as I do then I would probably still use it. In February, I upgraded to a Viking Sapphire 930. It is awesome for sewing with knits. I love my machine! Let me know if you have any other questions!

      • Thanks so much for your reply! I will definintely look into the Viking. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing your future creations!

  7. whoops! almost forgot to comment for the rafflecopter…i would choose either the honey blouse or the shearwater kaftan! i need more shirts!

  8. I love both that dress and the Shearwater Kaftan, but I think that the Shearwater Kaftan would be my first choice. Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. Your version is lovely! I would have to decide between the shearwater kaftan and the coastal breeze. I just recently found your blog and love it! I especially enjoy seeing the patterns you choose as my build is similar to yours. Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

