Perfect Pattern Parcel Bombshell Swimsuit

Pattern Parcel #3

I’m back again sharing my second make from the Pattern Parcel. For new blog followers, I’ll give you a little recap of what Perfect Pattern Parcel is all about. Pattern Parcel donates all profits after expenses from Parcel sales to Donors Choose. The funds raised from each Pattern Parcel sale will go to help K-12 students in minimizing educational inequality and encourage a community where children have the tools and experiences necessary for an excellent education.

The 3rd Pattern Parcel includes some great patterns that are perfect for summer. Included in this parcel are the following patterns: Poppy Tunic by Make it Perfect, Water Bottle Tote by Radiant Home Studio, Jorna Tank Dress by Jenna Brand, Staple Dress by April Rhodes, and Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files. Just name your price and you can become and owner of these awesome patterns.  If you name a price of $28 or more then you get the awesome bonus pattern, the Prefontaine Shorts, which I blogged about here.

Pattern Parcel #3

So if you follow me on Instagram, then you probably already have an idea about what I’m about to blog about. Last weekend I posted a picture of me at the beach and the bathing suit I was wearing was made by ME!  I still can’t believe I made a swimsuit and I actually wore it! I had heard really great things about the Bombshell Swimsuit from bloggers last summer, but at the time I thought the idea of making my own swimsuit sounded crazy and impossible! Well, a lot changes in a year and when I was emailed the pattern parcel patterns and saw the swimsuit listed, I just had to give it a try. This project was a little challenging for me and it would have been a big FAIL if it had not been for the extremely detailed directions, great pictures, and online sewalong. It’s not that the actual construction is that hard, the real challenge was that I had never attempted to sew anything like this before….swimsuit fabric, stretching elastic to specific ratios, ruching…I learned a lot and I have never been so proud of a finished project.

I’m not really comfortable posting pictures of myself in a bathing suit, so sorry no close-ups, just proof that I really made and wore my handmade swimsuit.

Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files (2) Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files (6) Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files (10) Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files (13)

015

This is one of Piper’s favorite pastimes. We make her a beach towel tent with our chairs and she people/bird watches. This picture was taken shortly before those dark clouds behind my head broke loose and had us running to the car.

Ready to make your own swimsuit? You can do it with the help of Closet Case Files and Perfect Pattern Parcel! The bathing suit would also look super cute with my anchor prefontaine shorts! Click on the link below to name your price for Pattern Parcel #3.  The sale ends June 13th!

Buy Pattern Parcel #3

Check out the tour schedule below to see the rest of the parcel patterns in action!
Parcel #3 Inspiration Tour Schedule:

Friday, May 30

Sew Busy Lizzy ||

Pienkel ||

SeamstressErin

Saturday, May 31

Design By Lindsay ||

the Brodrick design studio ||

Cookin’ and Craftin’

Sunday, June 1

Diary of a Chainstitcher ||

a happy stitch ||

Disaster in a Dress ||

sew Amy sew

Monday, June 2

Idle Fancy ||

Casa Crafty ||

Kadiddlehopper ||

Dandelion Drift

Tuesday, June 3

Our Family Four ||

Casa Crafty ||

Cookin’ and Craftin’ ||

a happy stitch

Wednesday, June 4

Lexi Made ||

The Quirky Peach ||

Stitched ||

a happy stitch ||

Casa Crafty ||

Thursday, June 5

verypurpleperson ||

Casa Crafty ||

sew a straight line ||

Sewbon

Friday, June 6

Shawnta Sews ||

Mama says sew ||

a happy stitch ||

Cookin’ and Craftin’

Saturday, June 7

Casa Crafty ||

sewninestitches ||

‘So, Zo… What do you know?’

Sunday, June 8

oonaballoona ||

A Stitching Odyssey ||

Sew Charleston

Monday, June 9

Sew Sweetness ||

True Bias ||

Ozzy Blackbeard

Tuesday, June 10

Welcome to the Mouse House ||

Sew Caroline ||

Adventures in Dressmaking

Wednesday, June 11

Peneloping ||

YoSaMi ||

sewVery

Thursday, June 12

la inglesita ||

La Pantigana ||

Sanae Ishida

Friday, June 13

Seamster Sewing Patterns ||

Paunnet

5 thoughts on “Perfect Pattern Parcel Bombshell Swimsuit

  1. oooooohhhhhh, so gorgeous! I bought the parcel and was thinking of the other view of the suit – but this version is so amazing on you I might have to change my plans!!

Leave a Reply

