By Hand London Anna Dress and Final Me Made May 2014 Roundup

By Hand London Anna Dress 001

By Hand London Anna Dress 002 By Hand London Anna Dress 004 By Hand London Anna Dress 005 By Hand London Anna Dress 008

I kept seeing the Anna dress pop up on blog after blog last summer/fall and everyone was raving over it, so when I won a gift card to Backstitch I quickly settled on the Anna. I started my Anna dress back in the fall, but then abandoned it when the weather got cold. I was so excited when spring came so I could finish her up! What I love so much about the Anna dress is the bust pleats on the bodice. They are so unique! I used a quilting cotton for this dress, but it would really be better out of something with more drape. The fabric is called Bohemian Charms in Honey by Art Gallery Fabrics. The skirt has 6 panels that you must line up to either a dart or a seam, so I would rate this pattern adventurous beginner or intermediate. Next time I make this dress, I think I’m going to try a simple gathered skirt instead. The neckline has 2 options, the V neck that I chose or slash neck. I chose the V, because all the dress I’ve made aren’t V neck. I love the other neck option too! I sewed the sleeve and skirt hem down by hand for a perfect finish. I have plans to also sew the Flora and Elisalex over summer break! From what I’ve read/seen, people are loving these 2 patterns just as much!

Me Made May Finale

Day 25: Pattern- Sewaholic Gabriola, Fabric- Amy Butler rayon challis

Sewaholic Gabriola 001

Day 26: Pattern- See Kate Sew Penelope Peplum, Fabric- knit from Girl Charlee

Penelope peplum

Day 27: Pattern- Colette Zinnia, Fabric- sateen from Five Eighth Seams

Colette Zinnia

Day 28: Pattern- Sew Caroline Tank Dress, Fabric- Geos in Deep Marine by Leah Duncan for Art Gallery Fabrics

Sew Caroline Tank Dress

Day 29- Pattern- Can’t remember, one of the Big 4, Fabric- Amy Butler Apparel Sateen

pencil skirt

Day 30: Pattern- Megan Nielsen Briar Top, Fabric- stretch lace from Five Eighth Seams, I think it’s by Betsy Johnson

briar top

Day 31: I went out in style with 3 “me mades”!

Pattern- Closet Case Files Bombshell swimsuit (will be blogging soon as part of pattern parcel #3) Fabric- swimsuit fabric from The Fabric Fairy

bombshell

Pattern- Wiksten Tank, Fabric- Anna Maria Horner Rayon

wiksten maxi

Pattern- Wiksten Tank lengthened to a maxi, Fabric- Anna Maria Horner Rayon

wiksten tank maxi

Me Made May was a success (even if my alarm made me miss the first day)! I really enjoyed seeing everyone’s makes. I will definitely be making some more tops to add to my me made wardrobe. I love dresses and skirts, but some days you just feel like wearing pants!

14 thoughts on “By Hand London Anna Dress and Final Me Made May 2014 Roundup

  1. That bathing suit is so cute. Way to go for sewing one. I am too scared to even begin to think about that. I love all the patterns and fabrics you used.

  2. Oh my gosh, I LOVE LOVE LOVE what you did with the Wiksten Tank in that lost shot. Well, anything in Anna Maria Horner is going to look great and I love all your makes but this is extra special. I love it — I have one tank in a Liberty print that just looks ick on me — now I’m thinking about putting in an elastic waist. Great job!

    p.s. I’m the one that has a twin of your puppers!

  3. You’ve made some beautiful outfits, I particularly love your Gabriola maxi. I hadn’t seen it before but now it’s a must have! Thank you x

Leave a Reply

