Sewaholic Gabriola and Me Made May Roundup

I have been dying to wear my Sewaholic Gabriola skirt, but I like to try to take my pictures for the blog when I actually wear the outfit somewhere. Well this morning was the perfect morning to wear my Garbriola out to Sunday brunch. Now that I’ve worn it out, I love it even more! It was so comfy, the fit was perfect, and it really fits my style.

Sewaholic Gabriola 001

Sewaholic Gabriola 007 Sewaholic Gabriola 006 Sewaholic Gabriola 005 Sewaholic Gabriola 002

The fabric is rayon challis by Amy Butler. Rayon challis is absolutely pefect for this skirt. The fabric is a little “loud”, but not for the South!!! This fabric screams Southern girl. I sewed a straight 6 for the skirt and made no adjustments. I staystitched all the pieces like I was supposed to, but something get stretched and I did not have enough waistband overlap to do a button or bar closure. I ended making it work with a hook and eye. The design of this skirt is awesome. The yokes give it great figure flattering shape through the hips and it flows out nicely from the hips down. It’s hard to see the neat design of the yokes in my pictures, since my fabric is so busy. I’m a pretty colorful person, but this pattern is really making me want to sew an all black version! There is a lot of seam matching in this skirt, so I would recommend it for an intermediate sewer or a really adventurous/careful/patient advanced beginner. It’s not hard, but you do need to be precise. I am so in love with it!

Me Made May Roundup for this past week

Day 18: Pattern- By Hand London Anna Dress, Fabric- Bohemian Charms in Honey by Art Gallery Fabrics (I’ll be blogging this soon!)

anna

Day 19: Pattern- Sewaholic Hollyburn, Fabric- Flights of Fancy in Day by Art Gallery Fabrics

hollyburn

Day 20: My birthday! Pattern- Colette Peony, Fabric- Anna Maria Horner voile

peony

Day 21- Pattern- Tilly and the Buttons Miette skirt, Fabric- Amy Butler Queen Anns Butterflies

miette

Day 22: Pattern- Colette Ginger, Fabric- Michael Miller Dumb Dot Citron

ginger

Day 23: Pattern Deer and Doe Chardon Skirt, Fabric- I have no idea what this fabric is, but it was pricey so I only bought enough for a skirt. I think there is silk in it. I purchased it at The Fabric Store on our trip to LA.

chardon

Day 25: Pattern- Foxglove Tank by Selvage Designs. I was a lucky pattern tester for this soon to be released tank! Fabric- Wild Beauty in Pineapple voile for Art Gallery Fabrics, purchased at Five Eighth Seams.

foxglove

Now to go work on my first handmade bathing suit! Eek!

 

14 thoughts on “Sewaholic Gabriola and Me Made May Roundup

  1. OH MY GOODNESS that Gabriola is beautiful, the best I’ve seen yet, and that Anna is lovely too. I am just smitten with yellow right now. Gorgeous me mades!

  2. Very cute skirt! looks like the perfect summer skirt.. I also love your Chardon skirt too! Love it in that fabric :) Your Me Made May looks lovely, I wish we would have nice sunny days over here in the (rainy) Netherlands..

    • It’s great for the summer! The Chardon is awesome…one of my favs! I’ll hope for better weather for you. I’ll be wishing for your rain in August when it’s a million degrees here.

Leave a Reply

