Pattern Anthology: Just Add Jeans

Pattern Anthology

I’m sure you have all seen the new Pattern Anthology: Just Add Jeans collection by now. I recently upgraded to a fancy new sewing machine that sews knits beautifully, so when Pattern Anthology released a collection of knits tops, I jumped on the opportunity to sew some new cute knit tops!

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (2)

First up, the Wild Flower Top by Melly Sews. This top comes in 3 sleeve options: cap sleeves, bell sleeves, and long sleeves. I chose the cap sleeves. The under bodice allows for fun coordinating fabric combos. I found my coral knit fabric at Five Eighth Seams and the under bodice fabric is leftover scraps of knit from girl charleeĀ  from a top I made. The under bodice takes barely any fabric, so it’s a great way to use up your knit scraps.

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (3)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (5)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (6)

Next up, The Day Tripper, by Shwin Designs. The Day Tripper is a short or long sleeve dolman sleeve top with a high-low hem and optional shoulder tabs. I originally had the shoulder tabs on mine, but my husband thought they looked funny. I decided he didn’t know what he was talking about and moved on to the next project. I then saw the Day Tripper Dixie DIY sewed and noticed her tabs were going a different direction than mine. After a second look at the pattern pictures I realized my tabs were sewn into the neckline instead of sleeve cuffs. Not sure how I made such a silly mistake, but I guess my husband has a good sense of style after all. That was NOT fun to seam rip out! This is probably the softest most comfortable top in my wardrobe now. Both knits I scored in the remnant section at Five Eighth Seams.

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (7)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (8)

Third, is the City Girl Frock, by See Kate Sew. This is not the first pattern from See Kate Sew that I’ve sewn. I love her Penelope Peplum and have made a top and dress version (not blogged yet). The City Girl Frock can be a top, tunic, or dress with 3/4 or half sleeves and an awesome cowl collar. I love cowl collars! I had a hard time evenly stretching my cowl and keeping all 3 raw edges even while sewing. I definitely need some more practice with this and already have some pretty pale yellow knit waiting in my stash for a second attempt!

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (9)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (11)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (12)

Pattern Anthology Just Add Jeans (1)

And last but not least, my favorite, The Parisian Top, by Andrea Pannell of Go To Patterns. I love, love, LOVE this top! I really have a thing for peter pan collars! The fabric I used for this collar is actually left over from my Megan Nielsen Banksia Top, which also has a peter pan collar. I love how you can use a woven fabric for the collar. This makes the fabric combination possibilities so much more fun and endless. It’s also a great way to use up those voile scraps! I have some great ideas for more Parisian tops and have loved all the versions I’ve been seeing.

I’m so happy with my new tops. They were quick and easy to sew and are all so unique. I really needed to add some every day tops (that look great with jeans) to my pattern collection. I feel like I can keep sewing up these patterns and each version will look so different. If you haven’t purchased your Just Add Jeans patterns yet, you can purchase it here. The sale ends tomorrow, so hurry up!

14 thoughts on “Pattern Anthology: Just Add Jeans

  1. Wow! Great job on all the tops! I love how you used coordinating colors. I am very excited to add tops to my pattern collection as well and these will be a great start. You peter pan collar looks wonderful!! I made a Day Tripper top and two Parisians so far. The collar on the Parisian did not match up in the center either time, although the collar on the second Parisian went better than the first. I made it work, but do you have any tips for me? The City Girl looks great too – that is next on my list! What kind of knit did you use?

    • Thanks! I didn’t have any issues with my collar matching up. I did take some precautions to make sure it stayed flat. I trimmed and clipped the seam and understitched. It seems to have worked! I worked it to work today and it only rolled out the slightest bit in the front, probably from the weight of the collar?

  2. Very cute! All four of them :) My favourite pattern would be the daytripper.. Unfortunately I’m on a pattern diet, so no shopping for me…

  3. All very cute, but the first is my favorite :) Well done, as usual! What new machine did you get, if you don’t mind my asking?

  4. Love these, you did such a great job choosing fabrics. They look so good on you. What fabric did you use for the City Girl? I like the thicker yet drapier cowl look like yours. I am relatively new to knits and a bit nervous, any suggestions? You are a great inspiration!!!!!

    • Thanks! They are great patterns! I used a super soft lightweight jersey with really nice drape. Lightweight jersey is definitely not the most fun to work with and I don’t recommend it for a knit fabric beginner. Too start I would spend a little more and get a good quality knit. It will be a lot easier to learn on!

Leave a Reply

