April Rhodes’ Riding Peplum

Ever since I sewed up my first April Rhodes’ Party Dress, I’ve been dieing to try the peplum version. I’m so glad I did, because I love the top just as much as the dress!

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 002

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 007

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 008

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 011

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 017

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 018

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 019

April Rhodes' Riding Peplum 029

Like the dress, the Riding Peplum is made to fit loose through the waist. It’s super quick and easy to sew with no zipper insertion needed! The neckline and armholes are finished with self made bias. I decided to fully line my top instead, since my fabric was a little see-through and to also nicely finish my neckline, armholes, and hem. I sewed an XS, but for some reason decided to use the length for the largest size. I’m not sure why I was so worried about the top being too short. The top ended up being too long, but not too long that I feel the need to take it apart to shorten. We’ll just pretend I meant to make it that long. I have plans for MANY more riding peplums, so I will use the length for the XS for my future makes.

Have you checked out Leah Duncan’s, for Art Gallery Fabrics, new Meadow Collection? I used Summer Grove in Day for the skirt. For the bodice I used Quietude in Sunset from her Tulle collection. These 2 fabric collections are my absolute favorites! I made a dress out of Quietude in Dusk and Meadow Vale in Dark. I really want to make something with the new Geos in Deep Marina!

April’s newest pattern is definitely my favorite so far. I’ve made 7 staples dresses to date, so I guess I better start sewing so I can beat my staple dress record!

8 thoughts on “April Rhodes’ Riding Peplum

  1. Great top! I love that this has the looser fit. I have a Vogue peplum pattern but I don’t want to fiddle with a muslin to get the fit right! Alas, it will have to wait since I’ve given up buying things for myself for Lent! ;)

  2. Ohhh.. I love it so much!!! I am crazy about all Leah’s fabrics too…. really gorgeous Abbey!! Thanks so much for sharing this lovely post and great photos…. your town looks incredible.

  3. Pingback: Sewing Fashion Report | Sew Mama Sew |

Leave a Reply

