Colette Zinnia and My Dress Giveaway Winner

I can’t believe it’s already been over 2 months since I made this skirt! I’ve been so busy that time is just flying by!

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 004

The Zinnia is the latest pattern from Colette Patterns. It has 3 versions. Version 1 is a gathered skirt with buttons down the front, Version 2 is pleated with belt loops and falls above the knee, and Version 3 is also pleated, but hits below the knee and includes directions for lining. I chose Version 2 and used a cotton sateen I purchased from Five Eighth Seams forever ago. It was another stash fabric just waiting for the perfect project and I’m glad I saved it for this skirt!

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 011

I debated on whether I wanted to add the belt loops, but then I remembered this super cut bow belt I scored in the sale room at Anthro. The belt loops were a little “fiddly” for me, but they were a first and got easier with practice.

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 019

Version 2 includes inseam pockets, while Version 1 has front patch pockets.

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 021

The skirt closes with an invisible and cute little button on the waistband. I made a fabric covered button and was able to fit the center of one of the flowers on it.

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 012

I am a sucker for pleats and I absolutely love the pleats on this skirt!

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 006

The skirt came together easily. I’m typically a 4 in Colette Patterns and the Zinnia 4 fits me great! The skirt is cut on the bias, which makes for a flattering fit, but also makes it difficult to hem without puckers. I ended up sewing the hem down invisibly by hand. Anybody have any good tricks for hemming a skirt cut on the bias?

Colette Zinnia by Sew Charleston 024

Can’t you picture this skirt on a rack at White House Black Market? It’s a little dressy for my everyday life, so I paired it with a very casual shirt to make it more my style (my style typically includes a pretty pup by my side). I really want to make another Zinnia using Version 3 with a sheer fabric.

mydresscover1_Page_1-1

And now for the giveaway winner for the My Dress by Debbie Brooke Designs! Congratulations to Katherine Rhodes! Lucky you! For the rest of you, the pattern will be released on March 15th and you can purchase it here.

17 thoughts on “Colette Zinnia and My Dress Giveaway Winner

  1. It’s such a pretty skirt, the pleats drape so well in this soft fabric. I like how you wore it with a soft pink tshirt, it complements the greys in the skirt.

    • Thanks! I thought this fabric would be to heavy for this skirt, since it’s not one of the recommended fabrics, but I love how it turned out. I was shocked out how much I like that simple mauvy/pink skirt with it!

  2. Kudos to you for doing a blind hand hem! It really shouldn’t be done any other way. As someone who has been sewing for 40 years, it is disappointing to me when I see so many skirts and dresses in the online sewing community hemmed by machine. I am reading a book right now, “Over-dressed, the Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion” by Elizabeth Cline, and I just read a passage that described how women decades ago would re-hem their store-bought dresses by hand so they would appear to be better quality! I am a fan of what appears to be the dying art of hand hemming.

  3. Wow ! Yay me ! I am so excited for the My Dress Pattern, that really made my day.
    What a pretty, feminine skirt. It looks perfect with that pink top. I can’t wait to see your next Zinnia.

  4. I allways hem by hand, when it comes to a skirt or dress, that is anything from flared to a full circle. In my opinion, there is no better way. You just can’t make something round straight :- )
    And it looks so much more quality.

    Very nice skirt!

    Herzliche Grüße,
    rebecca

  5. Abbey! This skirt is so cute! You are making me see some patterns in a whole new light! I would have never guessed how cute this pattern is! Was it hard to sew the pleats accurately? Any advice on that? What do you use to transfer pattern markings to fabric (ie pleats, darts, etc)? Beautiful sewing!

  6. What a cute skirt:-) and the fabric is just gorgeous…it looks like most folks over here prefer handhemming. I do both but find machine hemming to be much quicker. For bias cut skirts, I either do a really skinny double fold hem or use double folded bias tape. A tip for the skinny double fold hem is to first machinestitch a row of basting: it gives you a clean and even edge to press/fold and it also slightly draws in the fabric to make it narrower, and less likely to pucker. My 5 cents on the subject, anyway;-)

Leave a Reply

