Pattern Testing + Giveaway: My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns

Two new dresses to test + two giveaways in just two weeks! Lucky me….and lucky you!

Meet the “My Dress”, by Debbie Brooke Patterns, a quick and easy to sew dress that is extremely figure flattering!

mydresscover1_Page_1-1

Hey look….that’s me on the cover :) I never could have imagined that one day I would be on the front cover of a sewing pattern.

The My Dress comes in sizes 2 to 22 and really flatters every body type. I think what makes this dress so slimming is the curved high waistline in the front that gradually slopes down to the back. Whatever it is, I swear this dress makes me look/feel skinnier than I am. My husband even commented on the slimming effect!  Directions for making a maternity My Dress are also included. As you can see from the picture on the pattern cover, a little baby bump looks extra cute in the My Dress! I’ve heard many fellow seamstresses complain about not being able to sew for themselves while they are pregnant and how store bought maternity clothes are just awful and expensive. Well soon-to-be-mamas, your problems have been solved! I think the My Dress makes the perfect maternity dress!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (11)

The My Dress really looks great in any fabric. I especially love how it looks with two coordinating fabrics. A detail that I think also adds to that slimming factor. The My Dress can even be made with knits! Talk about endless fabric options!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (8)

I love these pleats at the shoulders! You can really emphasize this sweet detail if you choose a solid fabric for the bodice.

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (2)

The bodice is fully lined using a clever method Debbie Brooke Patterns refers to as the “hot dog method”. I love that this bodice is lined. It gives the dress a really professional finish. I honestly prefer lining a bodice than finishing it with a facing or bias tape. I would much rather line a bodice than try to sew bias tape around an armhole and burn my fingertips with steam. Lining this bodice was especially easy!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (3)

I purchased this Art Gallery Fabric at Five Eighth Seams forever ago and have been waiting for the perfect project for it. I often feel guilty for buying fabric without a purpose, but then I end up with a dress like this and I know I was meant to purchase that fabric!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (5)

See how the back is lower than in the front? Love this look!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (6)

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (9)

The My Dress is closed with an invisible side zipper. Don’t worry first time “zipper inserters”, Debbie Brooke Patterns provided very detailed directions on how to insert the zipper. Another beginner sewer plus…no sleeves to set! Let’s be honest, that’s a plus even for more experienced sewers.

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (10)

The My Dress can be styled in so many different ways. I loved how each of the My Dress girls showed up for the photo shoot in the same dress, but each version was so unique to their style. The photographer even noticed this. She jokingly told each of us where she thought we might be going in our My Dresses….”you are going to church, you are going to work, you are going shopping downtown, you are going out with friends”. She had the right idea! This versatile dress is the perfect dress for any occasion!

My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns (1)

The My Dress will officially be available to purchase on March 15th. Debbie Brooke Patterns is offering one Sew Charleston reader the chance to win a copy! To enter click on the rafflecopter link below. The giveaway will end next Sunday, the 23rd, at midnight.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Make sure you follow Debbie Brooke Patterns on Facebook to see upcoming pattern designs. They just posted pictures of an adorable little girls peplum top. The rumor is, there will be a “grown up” version! I hope it’s true and I hope I am lucky enough to be able to test! I love a good peplum!

43 thoughts on “Pattern Testing + Giveaway: My Dress by Debbie Brooke Patterns

  1. Oh, I adore the curved waist seam that is lower in the back! It’s also one of the things I love the most about the Victory Patterns Lola, in fact. (:
    Will have to put this dress onto my wish list! Thank you for sharing such lovely pictures, and thanks also for the giveaway!

  2. AHHH! Love this dress!! Those shoulders are so freaking cute! All of those versions are so pretty and so flattering. Just have to wait until March 15th I guess. That’s such a pretty colour on you.

  3. What a great dress! Not sure if this is open internationally but I’m entering anyway! I love that the pattern is so versatile. I think my favourite part is the shoulder darts and the use of two fabrics!

  4. Hi, I’ve just discovered your blog via Joanne from Sew Little Time, who recommended this dress as a maternity pattern! It’s a lovely dress. Looking forward to it’s release (if I’m not lucky enough to win here, that is!). Thanks for the opportunity!

  5. I really like the cap sleeves as I always find this a flattering look as well as protecting shoulders from the sun(when it is out !).

  6. Hey, congrats you look great on the cover! I really like the shoulder details, it makes the bodice very flattering, I think. (ps, I also have that blue bird fabric and have an idea of what to sew with it now!!)

  7. This is a great dress! I love all of the different versions and I have some Sarah Jane anchor fabric I’ve been hoarding that would be perfect for the bottom.

  8. Thank you so much Abbey and thank you to everyone that commented!!!
    I’m so glad you all like it!
    I originally designed the dress to be a good first project and it quickly became a versatile design that you can wear anywhere, hints the name My Dress. I am so thankful for all of the testers that tried knits, the maternity option, two toned solids, prints on top, prints on the bottom and all one fabric.

  9. Pingback: My Dress by Debbie Brooke Design | My great WordPress blog

Leave a Reply

