Pattern Testing + Giveaway: Sew Caroline’s Out and About Dress

Hey Ya’ll (as Sew Caroline would say)! I am so excited to share this project with you today! I was lucky enough to pattern test Sew Caroline’s first ever sewing pattern, the Out and About Dress!

Caroline describes this dress as designed for, “….the everyday lady with one million errands to run, a house to keep clean, and a job to finish”. She couldn’t have described this dress more perfectly. It’s easy to sew, easy to wear, easy to style, easy to dress up, and easy to dress down! I just love it!

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 003

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 002

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 005

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 007

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 009

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 010

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 011

SewCaroline Out and About Dress 016

The dress comes with the options of knee length or maxi, long sleeve or elbow, and an optional cuff. I sewed up the size small and it fits perfect. This is the first time my bust, waist, and hips all fell exactly in one size….must be a sign I was meant to test this dress! I used a medium weight knit with a nice drape. I purchased it at my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams, probably over a year ago. I just love the color so much that I have been holding onto it forever waiting for the right project.

The directions are very clearly written and easy to follow, making it a great beginner knit sewing project.

You can read all about the dress over at SewCaroline’s blog and snag a copy for yourself…..that is if you don’t win a copy of it during the awesome giveaway Caroline is generously offering to one of my readers! Click on the rafflecopter link below and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Congrats on releasing your first pattern Caroline! Keep designing! I know everyone will love this pattern just as much as I do.

80 thoughts on “Pattern Testing + Giveaway: Sew Caroline’s Out and About Dress

  1. Pingback: An Out and About Dress and a Giveaway!! | nearest the pin

  2. Hi Abby, yours is my favourite Out and About Dress and has inspired me to buy the pattern and fabric. I am at the cutting out stage and it is definitely taking me some time to line the grain up… But I must not be too daunted as I am thinking about the next I will make. Can you remember the fibres in your gorgeous yellow fabric? I would like my next to have a similar drape and maybe colour!! I buy my fabric on line so any advice would be great!
    Thanks Suze

    • Glad I could inspire you to purchase the pattern! I purchased the fabric almost a year ago at my local fabric shop and can’t remember exactly what the tag said. Its really soft and has a nice drape. I feel like it might have said modal knit? Wish I could be more of a help!

  3. Pingback: The Tank Dress by Sew Caroline Sewing Patterns | sewcharleston

Leave a Reply

