Imagine Gnats Bess Top and a Giveaway!

january pattern tour button 800px

Have you heard? Rachael, of Imagine Gnats, has been hosting an awesome January pattern tour with her great patterns! I was one of the lucky bloggers chosen to participate in the tour. Thanks Rachael! I feel honored to be part of your tour!

I had a hard time deciding between the Meridian Cardigan or the Bess top, but finally decided on the cardigan since it is winter and a cardigan would be a more wearable right now. I know, the title says “Bess Top”, that’s because I ended up changing my mind when I could not find the perfect 2 knits (it’s reversible) for it. I am VERY picky when it comes to my knits.  Anyways, Rachel kindly let me switch and I already had the Bess pattern from another giveaway Rachael hosted that I happened to win. Triple thanks Rachael!

I ended up going with a Nautical theme for my Bess Top, which required a photo shoot at the beach. I of course did not get this project done ahead of time, which left only one day to take the pictures….one very VERY windy day! I apologize for the lack of pictures with my head in it. You would not want to see what I look like with my hair looking like a wild woman (or maybe I don’t want you to see). I guess that’s what I get for changing my mind! Either way, I’m happy with my new nautical themed Bess Top!

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 020

This is the only picture with my head included that passed as semi-acceptable. See why I just had to take these pictures at the beach? The fabric is called Rigging Navy, by Michael Miller’s Ahoy Matey collection. The eyelet is  from my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams, I have been hoarding for almost a year. Since I chose to do eyelet, I was unable to finish the neckline and armholes using Rachael’s knit strip method. I just used white bias tape to give it a neat finish. I will have to make another Bess using Rachael’s method. I’m curious to see what it’s like to finish a neckline and armholes with strips of knit fabric.

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 019

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 018

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 017

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 008

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 007

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 029

Imagine Gnats Bess Top sewn by SewCharleston 022

Well, at least Piper still looks pretty in the wind :)

The Bess can be made as a top, tunic, or dress! It’s hard to explain how the sleeves work. I guess you could say they wrap around to the front from the back bodice. All I know is that it is super clever and requires no sleeve insertion!

Rachael is offering 20% off all her patterns in her shop using the code “januarytour”, during the month of January. She designs patterns for women and children and also has a cool pattern for a “padfolio” to help you get/stay organized. What’s better than 20%? A free pattern! Rachael is offering a giveaway to win a pattern of your choice from her shop! Please use the rafflecopter link below to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

january pattern tour bloggers 800px

Be sure to check out the rest of the blogs on the tour to see what they are sewing up and for more chances to win! You can also see the roundup over on the Imagine Gnats blog!

21 thoughts on “Imagine Gnats Bess Top and a Giveaway!

    • I love this eyelet….one of the reasons I had such a hard time cutting into it! Sorry to hear you are getting snowed on! I could actually go for a snow day right now, but that will never happen! Think of me when it’s 105 and 100% humidity in August and you won’t be so jealous :)

  1. I love that top and have never heard of these patterns! Also, I have the same dog as you — do you know what breed mix Piper is? We’ve never really been able to figure out our Rudy!

  2. Ooh, this is way cute! I love the fabrics you chose– they look great together! But please tell me it’s not warm enough for bare feet at the beach in January!!! If it is… do you need a roommate? I’m dying here in negative temperatures! ;)

    • Thanks! It’s not quite warm enough for bare feet and a short sleeve shirt, but with a warm fleece and tennis shoes it feels great on the beach! We occasionally get an exceptionally warm day….this day was not one of those! I’m not sure my husband would go for a roommate, but how fun would it be to have a roommate who loves to sew! It would be like a constant sewing party! ;)

  3. Pingback: Oh, the Things I Shall Make! - Let's Eat Grandpa!

Leave a Reply

